Cross Country -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner
Cross Country

NCAA West Regional Meet Takes Cross Country To Sacramento

Links associated with this release:
2018 NCAA West Regional Championships Central
2018 NCAA West Regional Championships Entries


Big West Cross Country Weekly Release No. 10


The first step towards the national championship is this weekend as Big West clubs gear up for the NCAA West Region meet on Friday morning.

This year’s edition of the West Regional will be held in California’s capital city Sacramento, hosted by Sacramento State and the Sacramento Sports Commission at the Haggin Oaks Golf Complex. The championship races will feature a women’s 6K and a men’s 10K, with the women slated to go first at 11:00 a.m. PT and the men to follow an hour later.

The NCAA Championships will take the top two, seven-person teams via automatic qualification from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams are to be selected at-large. Thirty-eight individuals will selected to participate in each Championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. The selections will be made Saturday morning.

For the third consecutive year, FloTrack will be the home for live and on-demand viewing of the NCAA Regional meets and NCAA Championships.

All Big West cross country clubs are slated to compete in the regional, as clubs are allotted a maximum of 12 entrants into each race.


• Cal Poly reigned supreme at the Big West Cross Country Championships, sweeping the team titles for the fifth time in program history. The 2018 Championships, hosted by Cal State Fullerton, marked a return to Carbon Canyon Regional Park in Brea, a site which had not held the league meet since 1997.

The Mustang men won the title thanks to a dominant 32-point showing, putting up 37 more points than second place UC Santa Barbara. Leading the way for the club was Jake Ritter, the overall 8K champion with a time of 24:27.5. Ritter led a contingent that placed fifth, seventh, ninth and 10th for the championship. The title marks the third consecutive, sixth in the last eight seasons and conference record 16th overall. Cal Poly is the lone program to have won double-digit titles in Championship history.

The women’s race was highly anticipated and didn’t disappoint as the Mustangs edged homestanding CSF 33-39. Cal Poly’s Miranda Daschian earned first place in a course record 21:23.1 over the 5K, with the Titans’ Samantha Huerta coming in second at 21:26.5. The Mustangs earned third and fourth in Katie Izzo (21:26.7) and Peyton Bilo (21:41.5), but Fullerton’s Trinity Ruelas (21:50.4), Lucina Vincent (21:59.4) and Sandra Flores (22:03.3) finished sixth, eighth and ninth to pull the Titans close. The Mustang title was then clinched by Sierra Brill (22.16.1) and Maddie MacDonald (22:18.2) in 12th and 13th.

Cal Poly’s title is the fifth in the last seven seasons for the program. Previous to this current run of success, the Mustangs had not won the title since the 2001 campaign. That was the second of back-to-back championships for the program.

• After sweeping the Big West Cross Country Championships, the Mustangs of Cal Poly earned some more history as the program earned four of the six major awards.

Cal Poly had Mark Conover win the Men’s Coach of the Year honor, while Priscilla Bayley came away with the Women’s Coach of the Year award. Their top runners came away with hardware as Jake Ritter claimed Men’s Athlete of the Year and Miranda Daschian the Women’s Athlete of the Year. It marks the sixth time in conference history that a school swept the Coach of the Year and Athlete of the Year awards in the same season (1985, ‘86, ‘87, 2013, ‘16). The Freshman of the Year awards were distributed among three schools as Tyler Spencer of Long Beach State claimed the Men’s Freshman of the Year and the Women’s Freshman of the Year was split among Cal State Fullerton’s Lucina Vincent and UC Davis’ Eva Goodisson.


Big West Conference @BigWestConference @BigWestXCTF
Cal Poly @CPMustangs @CalPolyTRACK_XC
Cal State Fullerton @FullertonTFXC
Long Beach State @LBSUtrackxc @LBSU_Track_XC
UC Davis @ucdavistfxc @UCDavisXCTandF
UC Irvine @UCIathletics @UCIcctf
UC Riverside @UCRiversideTrackXC @UCR_trackfield
UC Santa Barbara @ucsbtfxc @UCSBtfxc
Hawai'i @HawaiiCrossCountry @HawaiiXCTF