Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner

Home Events Highlight October Schedules


Big West Conference Golf Release - October

UC Davis’ Hutchison Wins Windon Title, Ties Tournament Record:
UC Davis sophomore and 2018 Big West Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year Thomas Hutchison carded a 4-under-par 68 in the final round of the Windon Memorial Classic men’s collegiate golf tournament, capturing individual medalist honors and tying the tournament record for best 54-hole score of 205 strokes.  As a team, the Aggies finished eighth among the 16-team field.

Hutchison, a mathematics major from San Jose, California, drained three birdies on the front nine, then another three on the back en route to his 68. The 205-stroke total matches two previous performances at the Windon: Tulsa’s Colton Staggs in 2014 and Michigan’s Matt Thompson in 2011. This is the 22nd installment of the annual tourney, named for former Ameritech vice president Bernie Windon.

CSUN, Hawai’i Men Prep For Annual Event:
The CSUN men’s golf program is slated to host the annual Bill Cullum Invitational October 15-16 at the Wood Ranch Golf Club.  Joining the Matadors from the Big West Conference are Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara and Hawai’i.  Last Year Utah State won the team title, while Cal State Fullerton’s Derek Castillo captured the individual title.

Hawai’i closes out the month of October hosting the annual Warrior Princeville Makai Invitational and will be joined by conference foes Cal Poly and Cal State Fullerton. The three-day event takes place at The Makai Club in Princeville, Hawai’i, October 28-30.

Anteaters, Rainbow Wahine Women Host October Events:
UC Irvine women’s golf hosts the UC Irvine Invitational October 29-30 at the Santa Ana Country Club, which includes Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, CSUN and Long Beach State.  UCI has won its own tournament three times (2007, 2005, 2003).

The University of Hawai’i women are set to host the Rainbow Wahine Invitaitonal Oct. 30-31 at the Kapolei Golf Club in Kapolei, O’ahu.  Eleven participants - BYU, Florida International, Grand Canyon, Hawai’i Pacific, UH-Hilo, Nebraska, New Mexico State, Northern Arizona, Sacramento State,  Sam Houston State  and UTRGV - will battle for the 2018 title.

Pair of Anteaters Post Back-To-Back Career-Bests:
In the first round of the Ptarmigan Ram Classic, senior Janet Yeo fired a career-low 69.  The following day freshman Sienna Lyford followed in Yeo’s footsteps and registered a career-best after carding 68.

Celebrating 50/35:
The 2018-19 season marks the 50th anniversary for men’s sports in the Big West Conference, and the 35th for women’s.  All season long the Big West Conference will celebrate the history of all 16 conference-sponsored sports.

Did You Know?

• There have been 17 different membership configurations in men’s golf and only LBSU has participated every year.  The 2019 championship will be the sixth straight year of the current configuration.

• During the 2016-17 season, Cal State Fullerton’s Martina Edberg became the first golfer to sweep the Big West Golfer of the Month awards.  The 2017 Big West Golfer of the Year captured all five honors awarded - September, October, February, March and April.