Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

Aggies Kick Off 2018-19 Big West Men's Golf Season


The reigning #BWCGolf Player of the Year, Samantha Hutchison, and UC Davis will play a pair of events in a week's time to open the 2018-19 season.Big West Golf Release - September

Big West At A Glance

Aggies Kick Off 2018-19 Big West Men’s Golf Season:
The UC Davis men’s golf team is slated to start the 2018-19 season competing in the Gene Miranda Falcon Invitational in Colorado Springs, Colo.  The three-day, 54-hole tournament runs this Friday through Sunday at the Eisenhower Golf Club Blue Course.

Big West Quartet Opens Season September 10:
Big West women’s golf kicks off Sept 10-11 with three different events.  Cal State Fullerton heads to Montana for the Battle at Old Works while UC Davis is set to compete in the annual Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M. The final season-opening tournament is the Hobble Creek Fall Classic in Springville, Utah, which will showcase CSUN and Hawai’i. Defending champion Long Beach State’s first tournament of the new year is slated for September 17-18 when The Beach heads to Fort Collins, Colo., for the Ptarmigan Ram Classic.

September Stats:
Eight of the nine Big West men’s golf programs open the new year in September. UC Santa Barbara is the lone team that is idle until Oct 1-2 when it competes in the Nick Watney Invitational. On the women’s side, Cal Poly is the only program to begin the season in October. Thirteen of the 14 September events are outside of California and the lone in-state tournament is in Palm Desert and is hosted by University of Wyoming.

A Look Back At 2017-18:
Long Beach State captured its first Big West title since 2009 after firing a three-round total of 879. LBSU shot a team total of 290 on day three to extend its lead to 10 strokes over second place UC Davis (889).  UC Irvine, who improved on its team total every day, finished third after firing 897. Cal Poly finished fourth with a score of 902 and was followed by Hawai’i (903).  UC Riverside finished with a three-round total of 915 to place sixth.  Cal State Fullerton was one stroke back at 916 and CSUN rounded out the eight-team field with a score of 922. LBSU’s Jennifer Yu took the lead on day one with a one-under 70 and never looked back as she went on to capture the individual medalist honor with a three-round total of even-par 213. This marked Long Beach State’s first individual title at the conference championship since Kay Hoey nabbed the title in 2007.

In a round that came down to the final putt, UC Irvine narrowly secured its eighth Big West men’s golf title with a one-stroke advantage over top-seeded UC Davis.  UC Irvine managed to hold off the Aggies with a three-round total of 5-under 852, locking down its first conference crown since 2015. The Aggies fired a total of 853 to sit one stroke back in second place.  UC Santa Barbara secured the third spot after carding 860.  Long Beach State was fourth at 863 while host Cal State Fullerton (866) fell on some bad luck and dropped to fifth.  Cal Poly notched the sixth slot with a score of 876 and was followed by CSUN (879), UC Riverside (885) and Hawai’i (907). UCSB’s Brandon Bauman, who led the tournament from day one, tied UC Davis’ Ryan Han for the top spot with an 8-under 208. Han clinched the automatic qualifier following a two-hole playoff.

Celebrating 50/35: The 2018-19 season marks the 50th anniversary for men’s sports in the Big West Conference, and the 35th for women’s.  All season long the Big West Conference will celebrate the history of all 16 conference-sponsored sports.

Did You Know?
• UC Irvine Head Coach Paul Smolinski leads the conference in Big West Coach of the Year honors with nine, including collecting the most recent one in 2018. Entering his 21st year at the helm of the Anteaters program, Smolinski looks to guide UC Irvine to back-to-back championships for the first time since 2007-08 seasons.

• The Big West Conference started sponsoring women’s golf in 1987 with Hawai’i, Long Beach State, San Diego State and San Jose State making up the league participants.

September Tournaments

Sept. 7-9    Gene Miranda Falcon Invit. (Colorado Springs, Colo.) - UCD
Sept. 17-18    Hartford Hawks Invitational (South Kent, Conn.) - CP
Sept. 17-18    Rams Masters Invitational (Fort Collins, Colo.) - CSF, LBSU
Sept. 23-24    Windon Memorial Classic (Lake Forest, Ill.) - UCD
Sept. 24-25    Mark Simpson Invitational (Erie, Colo.) - CSF, CSUN, UCR
Sept. 25-26    Husky Invitational (Sammamish, Wash.) - LBSU, UH

Sept. 10-11    Battle at Old Works (Anaconda, Mont.) - CSF
Sept. 10-11    Hobble Creek Fall Classic (Springville, Utah) - CSUN, UH
Sept. 10-11    Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invit (Albuquerque, N.M.) - UCD
Sept. 16-18    East/West Match Play (Ann Arbor, Mich.) - UCD
Sept. 17-18    Ptarmigan Ram Classic (Fort Collins, Colo.) - LBSU, UCI
Sept. 24-25    Coeur d’Alene Resort Invitational (D’Alene, Idaho) - LBSU, UCI, UH
Sept. 24-26    Golfweek Conference Challenge (Vail, Colo.) - UCR
Sept. 29-30    Cowgirl Desert Intercollegiate (Palm Desert, Calif.) - CSF, CSUN, UCR