Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner

Women's Golf Eyes Big West Championship


Big West Conference Women's Golf Championship Release

Big West Conference Women's Golf Championship Tournament Page

Live Scoring

The 2018 Big West Conference women’s golf championship is set to begin Sunday, April 15 at the Strawberry Farms Golf Club in Irvine, Calif.  The conference championship is a three-day, 54-hole tournament with 18 holes played each day on the par 71, 6,038-yard course.

First round of day one is slated to tee off with No. 1-seeded Long Beach State and No. 2 UC Davis at 8:30 a.m.  No. 3 Hawai’i, No. 4 Cal Poly and host No. 5 UC Irvine begin at 9:15 and are followed by the trio of No. 6 UC Riverside, No. 7 Cal State Fullerton and No. 8 CSUN at 10:00 a.m.  Admission is free.

The 49ers of Long Beach State may be considered the favorite as it owns the highest national ranking of the eight-team field after posting six top-5 team finishes out of eight events this season.  Long Beach State claimed the team title at the UC Irvine Invitational back in the Fall.  Haley Tygret paces Long Beach State with a 73.8 stroke average.

UC Davis, led by Samantha Hutchinson and her league-leading 73.1 stroke average, are looking to reclaim the conference title they lost two years ago after winning six consecutive Big West championships.  The Aggies secured three top 5 finishes this year, including a first place at the Battle of the Rock, which featured five of the eight conference women’s golf programs.

Cal Poly enters the event as the defending champion after claiming its first women’s golf title, by one stroke over UC Riverside, in 2017. Coach Sofie Aagaard’s Mustangs will send four of the five Mustangs who played in last year’s title-winning march into the 2018 finals.  Mallory Muehlbauer, who finished seventh in the 2017 Big West finals, Desiree Gillaspy (10th), Sophie Bergland (21st) and Jamie Harada (34th) all return for this year’s championship.  Jamie Binns, who finished fourth in the 2017 finals, will miss this year’s event due to injury.

The University of Hawai’i could also sneak up and grab the top spot as they are coming off an impressive performance in its home event, the Anuenue Spring Break Classic, where it tied for first place. Kaci Masuda, who sports a 75.2 stroke average, nabbed the individual title at the same event.  The Rainbow Warriors also secured two second place finishes earlier in the year.

The winning team advances to the NCAA Division I women’s regionals which are held at Stanford,Calif., Tallahassee, Fla., Austin, Tex., and Madison, Wisc., May 7-9. The 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championships will be hosted May 17-23 at Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, Okla.