Men's Basketball -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy


Smile Generation Geico
Men's Basketball Names Moneke To Two Award Watch Lists



Lute Olson Award Watch List
| Lou Henson Award Watch List

UC Davis senior forward Chima Moneke has been named to a pair of watch lists for the Lute Olson Award and Lou Henson Award, announced by

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player, while the Lou Henson Award is bestowed upon the nation's top Division I mid-major player.  Forty players are on the Olson Watch List, and 51 made the Henson Watch List.

Moneke is one of just 10 players from a mid-major conference to be nominated for both prestigious awards.  He joins a group that is as follows:

Joe Chealey, Charleston
Chris Clemens, Campbell
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Nana Foulland, Bucknell
Tyler Hall, Montana State
Kevin Hervey, UT Arlington
Jock Landale, Saint Mary's
D'Marcus Simmonds, Georgia State
MaCio Teague, UNC Asheville

Moneke, a communication major, made a gigantic splash in the Big West last season as the league's Newcomer of the Year.  A transfer from Northeast Community College, Moneke was the Big West's rebounding champion at 9.5 boards per game.  He also ranked No. 5 in scoring (14.6 ppg) and No. 3 in field goal percentage.

A key figure in getting UC Davis to its first NCAA Tournament – and first NCAA victory – last year, Moneke was named the conference tournament Most Valuable Player after averaging 13.0 points and 13.0 rebounds in three wins.

The native of Canberra, Australia also compiled conference-leading totals in double-doubles (14) and double-figure rebounding games (17).

The Lute Olson Award is named after the legendary head coach who won 780 games in 34 seasons, including 24 at Arizona.  Throughout his tenure in Tempe, Olson led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 straight NCAA appearances, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.

The Lou Henson Award honors an individual who coached 41 years.  He was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779 when he retired in 2005.  He is the winningest head coach at two programs – Illinois and New Mexico State.  He's also one of only 12 coaches all-time to take two schools to the Final Four.

Both award winners will be announced on March 31, 2018 at the Awards Event in San Antonio, site of the NCAA Final Four.