Cross Country -
Cross Country

NCAA West Regional Ahead For Cross Country

Links associated with this release:
NCAA West Region Championship Central


Big West Cross Country Weekly Release No. 10


The league’s cross country clubs will take the first steps toward nationals on Friday as the NCAA West Region meet is in the spotlight.

Eight of the nine Big West schools will head to the Pacific Northwest as the University of Washington will host the meet at Jefferson Park Golf Course in Seattle. This is the third year that the course has held the West Region championship. The conference clubs will join 32 other schools vying for a chance to advance to the NCAA Championships on November 18.

The event will feature a women’s 6K and a men’s 10K, slated to begin at 10:30 am and 11:30 am, respectively. The top two teams will gain automatic qualification to the NCAA meet, while others will fall into a pool of 13 at-large berths along with clubs from the eight other regions across the country. The top four individual finishers not already on a top-two scoring team will automatically advance from every region provided they finished in the top 25 at each respective meet, to be joined by two more final individual entrants selected on an at-large basis by an NCAA subcommittee. In all, 38 individuals in each gender will be chosen to compete in the NCAA Championships. The complete fields for the national championship will be announced on Saturday morning on

The country’s eight other regionals will be contested in Logan, Utah (Mountain), College Station, Texas (South Central), Buffalo, N.Y. (Northeast), Tuscaloosa, Ala. (South), Charlottesville, Va. (Southeast), Terre Haute, Ind. (Great Lakes), Ames, Iowa (Midwest) and Bethlehem, Pa. (Mid-Atlantic).

Full information on the meet is available in the provided link.


• A repeat champion and a return to glory were the story in Riverside as the Cal Poly men and the UC Santa Barbara women won the 2017 Big West Cross Country titles.

The Mustangs won their second straight title and fifth in seven seasons. The squad posted 29 points on the way to the title, the third time in the last four Championship runs that the squad posted fewer than 30 points.  The men’s 8K individual race was a bit of a surprise as UC Davis’ Thomas Madden was the victor in 24:13.7. He is the first Aggie to win the men’s race since Jon Peterson in 2010.

On the women’s side, the Gauchos’ 45 points delivered the first title for the program since 2010. They barely outlasted Cal Poly for the title as the Mustangs amassed 47 points. UCSB’s Jenna Hinkle was the top overall finisher in the women’s 6K, winning the race in 20:17.1. Her time was nearly 10 seconds faster than the second place finisher.

• The Central Coast schools was well represented in the cross country major awards as five of the six winners came from either Cal Poly or UC Santa Barbara.

The men’s awards saw Yousef Baddour of UC Santa Barbara win the Freshman of the Year, while Cal Poly’s Mark Conover claimed Coach of the Year accolades. UC Davis’ Thomas Madden broke the Central Coast stranglehold as he claimed the Athlete of the Year honor. The women’s awards were led by UC Santa Barbara’s Jenna Hinkle who claimed the Athlete of the Year award. Freshman of the Year belongs to Cal Poly’s Sierra Brill, while Pete Dolan of UCSB won the Coach of the Year.