Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Edberg Ends Collegiate Career At #NCAAGolf Championship

Links associated with this release:
Live Scoring


Martina Edberg carded her best round of the tournament today at the NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championship at Rich Harvest Farms with an even-par 72, for a three-day total of 232 to finish the tournament tied for 50th.

Martina Edberg closed her #BWCGolf Player of the Year season with her best round at the #NCAAGolf Championship

Monica Vaughn of Arizona State overcame a two-shot deficit to begin the day to win medalist honors after recording a final round 71 to post a 54-hole total of 217, claiming the sixth individual national title in Arizona State history.

In the team competition Northwestern, who had led after each of the first two rounds, posted a final round score of 298 to earn the top seed in the Match Play Quarterfinals. The Wildcats will face No. 8 seed Kent State on Tuesday morning. 

This was Edberg's first national championship as an individual after competing in three consecutive NCAA Regionals. She advanced out of the Albuquerque Regional this season after tying for second overall and finishing as the top individual participant.

The 2017 Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship individual medalist and 2017 Big West Player of the Year, Edberg, entered the event with a 71.34 scoring average, a new Cal State Fullerton single-season record.

Over the course of the season, she posted top-three finishes in 10 of 11 tournaments and won a conference-record five consecutive Big West Golfer of the Month awards, bumping her career total to seven, which placed her second on the all-time Big West career list.

She is currently ranked 15th according to GolfStat rankings and 27th according to Golfweek.

Edberg, one of 12 individuals competing at the championship, was the first Titan to reach the final since the program was reinstated for the 2009-10 season. In addition to the 12 individuals, there were 24 teams participating in the championship for a total of 132 players. The stroke play portion of the championship will culminate with the individual medalist being determined following the 54 holes. The field will then be cut to the top eight teams which advance to the match play quarterfinals on Tuesday and Wednesday.