Golf -

Cal Poly, Three Individuals Selected To NCAA Women's Golf Regional

Links associated with this release:
Lubbock Regional Live Stats
Albuquerque Regional Live Stats
NCAA Women's Golf Regional


Big West champs Cal Poly will be joined by BWC Player of the Year Martina Edberg (CSF), Paige Lee (UCD), and Jakeishya Le (UCR).

The Cal Poly women’s golf team, who two days ago claimed its first-ever Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship, is bound for the Albuquerque, New Mexico, for its first NCAA regional appearance. 

Joining the Mustangs in the Albuquerque Regional are Cal State Fullerton’s Martina Edberg, who won her sixth individual medalist honor of the year at the Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship and UC Davis’ Paige Lee. Edberg led the team with a 71.38 scoring average during the 2016-17 season, a new Cal State Fullerton single-season record. She has set the record each of the past three seasons, posting a 74.81 average as a freshman, a 74.44 as a sophomore and 73.35 last season. This will be her third straight trip to the NCAA Regionals.

Lee is making her fourth trip to the NCAAs after the Aggies advanced in both 2014 and 2015 after claiming the conference title and last year she was selected as an individual.  She earned her third straight first-team All-Big West award this season and was the 2015 Big West Conference Women’s Golf Player of the Year. 

Also making the postseason as an individual is UC Riverside’s Jakeishya Le, who finished one stroke back in second place at the conference championship to mark her third-straight top-five finish of the season. This marks the second straight year Le will be participating in the NCAAs as the Highlanders made their first appearance in the NCAA Division I Regionals as a team last year, following their first Big West Conference Championship. Le is slated to participate in the Lubbock Regional at the Rawls Course.  

Coach Sofie Aagaard’s Mustangs are one of 18 teams selected to compete in the regional, to be held at the University of New Mexico Golf Course. Six individuals also will compete in the regional.

Two other regionals, also with 18 teams and six individuals each, will be held across the country. Those sites include Ironwood Golf and Country Club in Greenville, N.C., and Scarlet Course at Ohio State Golf Course in Columbus, Ohio. The four regional tournaments will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the championships field. A total of 384 participants have been selected for regional competition. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional to the national championship.

The 2017 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championship is scheduled for May 19-24 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.