Men's Baseball -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy


Smile Generation Geico

Big West Sends Three To NCAA Regionals

Links associated with this release:
NCAA Baseball Championship Bracket (Printable)
NCAA Baseball Championship Bracket (Interactive)
Starkville Regional Ticket Information
Nashville Regional Ticket Information
Miami Regional Ticket Information


The #BigWest will have three represenatives in the NCAA Championship for the 5th time in the last 10 years.

Big West Baseball Release - Week 16

The Division I Baseball Committee announced the 64-team field for the 2016 NCAA Baseball Championship and the Big West Conference received three selections - Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara.  All three teams will be competing on the road for the NCAA Regionals, marking the first time the Big West Conference has not had at least one team host since 2012.

The Titans (35-21), who received the league’s automatic bid into the postseason after winning their 20th Big West title with a 17-7 record, are making their 25th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament, 38th overall. Cal State Fullerton owns the third-longest active streak in the nation behind Miami (44 years) and Florida State (39 years). 

Cal State Fullerton received the second seed in the Starkville Regional and is slated to battle third-seeded Louisiana Tech (40-18) Friday, June 3 at 4:30 p.m. (Pacific) on ESPN3.  The host Bulldogs (41-16-1) entertain Southeast Missouri State (39-19) in the first game of the doubleheader.  The Titans, who are 99-41 (.701) all-time in the NCAA Regionals, have only met La Tech on the diamond once back in 1987, a game in which the Titans won, 11-0. Fullerton also holds a 5-1 advantage over MSU and has never faced the Redhawks.  The winner of the Starkville Regional advances to the Super Regionals where it will face the Louisiana-Lafayette Regional champion, which features Louisiana-Lafayette, Arizona, Sam Houston State and Princeton.

Long Beach State (36-20) returns to the postseason following a one-year hiatus after nabbing an at-large selection in the postseason. The Dirtbags, who finished second in the Big West Conference, enter the Miami Regional as the only non-Florida school and are set to face off against second-seeded Florida Atlantic (38-17) on Friday, June 3 at 10 a.m. (Pacific) on ESPN3.  The Hurricanes (45-11) take on Stetson (29-29) in game two at 4:00 p.m.  Long Beach State trails the overall series against Miami, 8-16, and has never faced FAU or Stetson.  The winner of the Miami Regional takes on  the victor of the Oxford Regional which includes Mississippi, Utah, Boston College and Tulane.

UC Santa Barbara (37-18-1) earned  an at-large selection in its third postseason appearance in four years after finishing third in the Big West Conference.  The second-seeded Gauchos are gearing up to battle their way through the Nashville Regional, which includes Vanderbilt (43-17), Washington (32-21) and Xavier (30-28).  UC Santa Barbara squares off with Pac-12 at-large selection Washington in game one of the regional scheduled for Friday, June 3 at Noon (Pacific).  The Commodires host Xavier in game two of the doubleheader.  The Gauchos have never faced Vanderbilt or Xavier, but own an 8-6 series record against the Huskies. The winner of the Nashville Regional, which is slated to air live on ESPN3, faces the victor of the Louisville Regional which showcases Louisville, Ohio State, Wright State and Western Michigan.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 8 p.m. (PT). The 70th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.