Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Big West Men's Golf Championship Begins Monday

Links associated with this release:
Live Scoring
Big West Men's Golf Championship Page


Big West Golf Release - Men's Champioship


The 2016 Big West Conference Men’s Championship is right around the corner as CSUN prepares to host the 2016 Big West Conference Men's Golf Championship at the Wood Ranch Country Club in Simi Valley, Calif., May 2-4.

Nine teams with five golfers on each squad will compete for the team and individual titles on the par-70 course that measures 6,930 yards.  Live scoring can be found at

Last season, UC Irvine battled its way to the top of the leaderboard after carding a low-round score of 285 during the final round to claim its first conference title since 2010.  It marked the third team title for the Anteaters in 2015 after picking up wins at the Del Walker Intercollegiate and Cal Poly Match Play.

The ‘Eaters, who enter this year’s event as the No. 5 seed, return four players from their championship team a year ago, losing only Pete Fernandez, who finished second at the event.  Led by David Kim’s 73.3 stroke average, UC Irvine finished in the Top 3 in three events this year, which includes a second place finish at their home event - Anteater Invitational.

UC Davis holds the top seed going into the event after a strong spring.  The Aggies closed out March claiming  The Goodwin, a 26-team field that showcased seven highly-ranked programs, team and individual titles.  Luke Vivolo captured the individual title after firing two birdies on the final three holes to shoot 68 and break a late tie with 19th-ranked Aaron Wise of Oregon and claim a one-shot win with his 10-under 200 total.  Two events later UCD posted its second Top 3 finish at the El Macero Classic, their home event.  Vivolo and Patrick Stoli are the only players returning from last year’s event to represent the Aggies at the 2016 championship.

Cal Poly, headlined by last year’s individual medalist Justin De Los Santos, who’s sporting a 72.3 stroke average, received the No. 2 seed to kick off this year’s event.  Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara, who each have a player carding a sub-72 stroke average are seeded third and fourth.  The 49ers are a strong contender for the top spot as they posted five Top 3 finishes this season, including back-to-back team titles to close out the month of March.  The Gauchos captured one team title and three Top 3 finishes.

A practice round is slated for Sunday, followed by the first round of play Monday at 9:00 a.m.  Tuesday’s second round of play, as well as the final round set for Wednesday, begins at 7:25 a.m. from both the first and 10th tees.  Awards will be presented following the final round approximately at 2:30 p.m.

The winning team advances to the NCAA Division I men’s regionals which are held at six sites this year from May 16-18. This year’s regional sites include Tuscaloosa, Ala., Tucson, Ariz., Kohler, Wis., Albuquerque, N.M., Stillwater, Okla., and Nashville, Tenn.  The six-day NCAA Men’s Golf Championship is scheduled for May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.