Tennis -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Long Beach State, UC Santa Barbara Stay Local For NCAA Tournament


The Long Beach State women and UC Santa Barbara men will not need to travel far to reach their NCAA Tennis Championship destinations as both postseason brackets were revealed today.

2015 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship Bracket  | 2015 NCAA Women's Tennis Championship Bracket

2015 Tennis Release No. 16
| UCSB-Texas Tech Live Stats

LBSU, winner of its fifth straight Big West Tournament title, 11th in the last 12 years, and 12th overall, will play in the USC Regional.  The 49ers (18-5), a No. 3 seed in the regional, drew Virginia Tech (16-9) in the first round.  The winner of that match will get No. 1 national seed and host USC, or Youngstown State, in the second round.

2015 Big West Championship winners UC Santa Barbara and Long Beach State will stay in Southern Calfiornia for the NCAA ChampionshipsCompeting in their 12th NCAA Tournament, the 49ers earned the Big West's automatic bid by virtue of winning the conference tournament at Indian Wells Tennis Garden last weekend.  They knocked off No. 8 Cal Poly, No. 5 CSUN and No. 3 UC Santa Barbara to claim the crown.  The 49ers have won the conference tournament 11 times in 12 years at Indian Wells. 

Last year, LBSU defeated Tulsa in the NCAA Tournament first round before falling to Stanford in the second round.

UC Santa Barbara (15-9) landed the Big West automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Tennis Championship for the second time in three years, winning the conference tournament as the No. 3 seed last weekend in Indian Wells.  The Gauchos are making their eighth NCAA appearance under head coach Marty Davis.

UCSB will head to Los Angeles to play in the UCLA Regional.  The Gauchos take on Texas Tech in the first round.  The host and 16th-seeded Bruins battle Florida Gulf Coast in the other first round matchup.


Long Beach State - Back In The NCAA Tournament
Long Beach State is the dominant women’s tennis program in the Big West, having won 11 conference tournament titles in the last 12 years.  LBSU can also boast of these accomplishments:

• Finished 8-0 in Big West regular season play, marking the seventh time in 10 years that the 49ers went undefeated.  They also posted unblemished marks in 2006 (7-0), 2008 (8-0), 2009 (8-0), 2010 (8-0), 2012 (8-0) and 2014 (8-0).

• Since the Big West instituted a round robin league schedule in 2006, LBSU owns a record of 76-3 (.962) in conference play.  LBSU has won 20 straight regular season matches against Big West opponents dating back to Mar. 2, 2013 against UC Irvine.

• LBSU has won a first round match in the NCAA Tournament in two of the last three years.  In 2012, the 49ers defeated No. 33 Arkansas, 4-0, at UCLA.  Last year, they knocked off No. 21 Tulsa in a subregional at Stanford.  LBSU also won a first round match in 2006 against New Mexico.

• In her 18th season at the helm of LBSU, head coach Jenny Hilt-Costello owns a career record of 310-135 (.697).  She compiled career win No. 300 on March 6 at UC Irvine.  Her teams have won at least 18 matches for eight consecutive seasons, and have won 20 or more six times.

UC Santa Barbara Returns To Familiar Place

Another NCAA Tournament regular hailing from the Big West is the UC Santa Barbara men’s tennis program.    The Gauchos are making their eighth postseason appearance under Marty Davis in his 16 years as head coach.  UCSB’s eighth Big West Tournament title led by Davis came as a No. 3 seed, notable in the fact that the program has been a three seed or lower in four of those title runs.

The Gauchos have risen to No. 52 in the national rankings, leapfrogging three other Big West schools in No. 54 Cal Poly, No. 58 UC Davis and No. 67 UC Irvine.  Entering the NCAA’s UCSB has won 12 of its last 15 contests after a 3-6 start.

UCSB seeks to snap an eight-match losing streak in the NCAA’s.  The Gauchos last won in the 1998 first round against Oregon.  The program’s best performance came in 1997, reaching the round of 16 against Mississippi.

Nguyen Set To Make Second Straight Trip To NCAA Singles Championship
For the second consecutive year, Hawaii standout Cindy Nguyen will participate in the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Singles Championship.  The 2015 Big West Player of the Year, Nguyen earned an automatic bid to the 64-player field by virtue of being ranked in the ITA top 125.  Nguyen is ranked No. 95 in the latest poll.  She is one of 15 automatic qualifiers that will compete with 49 at-large selections.  The competition will be conducted May 20-25 at the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas.