Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

UC Davis, Trio Of Individuals Selected To NCAA Tournament

Links associated with this release:
Live Scoring
NCAA Women's Golf Championship Release


The NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship announced the teams and individuals set to participate in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship and UC Davis is making its sixth straight postseason appearance after capturing the Big West Conference championship for the automatic qualifier.  The Big West Conference also earned three individual at-large selections in Cal State Fullerton’s Martina Edberg, UC Riverside’s Savannah Vilaubi and Long Beach State’s Kassidy Teare.

Big West champs UC Davis, along with Savannah Vilaubi (UCR), Martina Edberg (CSF), and Kassidy Teare (LBSU) will rep the Big West in the NCAA RegionalsThe six-time Big West Conference champion Aggies are headed to the South Bend regional where they will compete at the Warren Golf Course in Notre Dame, Ind., as the No. 5 seed.  Arizona is the top seed of the regional and is followed by Duke, Oklahoma State and Wake Forest.  Andrea Wong, who claimed individual medalist honors at the conference championship last week, paces UC Davis with a  72.5 stroke average and Big West Player of the Year Paige Lee is close behind with a 72.8 mark.

The Aggies are making their seventh overall regional appearance in eight Div. I seasons and are looking to move on to the finals for the fourth time. UC Davis tied for third in 2011 for its highest regional finish while the Aggies’ best national showing was a 16th-place showing last season.

Joining the Aggies in South Bend is Edberg, who paced the Titans this season with a 74.2 stroke average in 2014-15.  She becomes the first Titan golfer be selected to the regionals since the women’s golf program was reinstated for the 2009-10 season.    The  Glumslov, Sweden, native, finished in the top 10 in five of the nine events she participated in this year with her best finish taking place in February where she was named co-medalist honors at the Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational back in February.  She also earned All-Big West First Team honors for the second straight year.

Vilaubi is set to compete at the St. George regional at Entrada at Snow Canyon Country  Club in St. George, Utah.  The All-Big West First Teamer led the Highlanders this season in scoring average (74.7) over nine tournaments and finished in the top 10 in five of those outings.  The Downey, Calif., native shot a career-low 67 in the first round of the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown Tournament on October 26, setting a new school record for individual single-round low.

Teare joins Vilaubi as one of six individuals competing in the St. George regional.  She landed in the top 10 in five of the 11 tournaments during the 2014-15 season and earned All-Big West First Team honors for her efforts. The native from Vista, Calif., recorded her best performance as a 49er this past spring at The Gold Rush, where she finished runner-up and was just one shot behind first place. Teare, who paces the 49ers with a 74.4 stroke average, also registered an impressive performance at the SDSU Farms Invitational where she finished the tournament at 3-1.

Four regional tournaments will be conducted May 7-9 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition and all national championships policies apply.

A total of 384 participants were selected for regional competition. Of these players, 132 will advance to the championships finals. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional. The six-day NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championships is scheduled for May 22-27 at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida, with the University of South Florida serving as host.

NCAA South Bend Regional
South Bend, Indiana (hosted by Notre Dame)
Warren Golf Course

May 7-9, 2015

Participating Teams
1. Arizona
2. Duke
3. Oklahoma State
4. Wake Forest
5. UC Davis
6. Pepperdine
7. Tulane
8. Notre Dame
9. Purdue
10. Kent State
11. Louisville
12. San Jose State
13. North Carolina
14. Kentucky
15. Harvard
16. Troy
17. Eastern Kentucky
18. Youngstown State