Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

UC Davis Takes Over Top Spot Following Day Two Action

Files associated with this release:
2015 MGolf Championship Day 2 Results (pdf)

Links associated with this release:
Live Scoring
Big West Men's Golf Championship Central


UC Davis bested its first-round score by three strokes, firing 285 on day two for a two-round score of 573, jumping to the top spot on the leaderboard at the 2015 Big West Conference Men’s Golf Championship at the San Luis Obispo Country Club.

While the Aggies own the top spot with a five-over 573, UC Irvine and UC Riverside are just two strokes back knotted in second place at 575, setting up for an exciting final round showdown.  In fourth place is host Cal Poly, who sits 10 strokes back in fourth place, and Long Beach State is in fifth place with a two-day total of 587.  The Gauchos of UC Santa Barbara shaved 14 strokes off their round one score to move up two spots to sixth place at 590 (302-288).  Cal State Fullerton is seventh with a score of 596 and is followed by Cal State Fullerton (596) and CSUN (599).

The individual race is just as heated as the team title with UC Riverside’s David Gazzolo and UC Irvine’s Pete Fernandez tied for first after carding 1-over 141.  Fernandez shot a low round score of 68 to join Gazzolo (67-74), who entered day two as the leader, atop of the standings.  There is also a three-way tie for third place between UC Davis duo Luke Vivolo and Mike Brockington and Cal Poly’s Justin De Los Santos, who are two strokes back from the leaders after carding 143.  Aggie Matt Seramin stands alone in the sixth spot with a score of 144 while seven players are log-jammed at the seventh slot.
The final round of the 2015 Big West Men’s Golf Championship gets underway Tuesday, April 28 with split tee times.  Cal Poly, Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara tee off at 7:30 from hole one while Cal State Fullerton, CSUN and Hawai’i start on the 10th hole at 7:25 a.m. The final group, comprised of UC Davis, UC Irvine and UC Riverside  gets underway at 8:20 a.m. from the first tee.  Live scoring is available at

The winning team advances to the NCAA Division I men’s regionals which are held at six sites this year from May 14-16. This year’s regional sites include Bremerton, Wash, Chapel Hill, N.C., Lubbock, Texas, New Haven, Conn., Noblesville, Ind. and San Diego, Calif. The six-day NCAA Men’s Golf Championship is scheduled for May 29-June 3 at Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla.

Big West Men’s Championship
San Luis Obispo Country Club
Par 70 • 6,677 Yards

1. UC Davis - 288 - 285 = 573
T2. UC Irvine - 289 - 286 = 575
T2. UC Riverside - 286 - 289 = 575
4. Cal Poly - 289 - 296 = 585
5. Long Beach State - 298 - 289 = 587
6. UC Santa Barbara - 302 - 288 = 590
7. Cal State Fullerton - 300 - 296 = 596
8. CSUN - 298 - 301 = 599
9. Hawai’i - 316 - 307 = 623