Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Big West Announces Women's Golf Awards


Big West Women's Golf All-Conference Release

The women who shined at the Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship were recognized again today as they picked up the conference’s top honors of the season.  Cal State Northridge’s Clariss Guce, who tied for first at the Big West Championship, collected Big West Women’s Golf Player of the Year while Cal State Fullerton’s Martina Edberg, who won the playoff against Guce to claim the individual title at the conference championship, claimed Big West Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year.  Big West Women’s Golf Coach of the Year was awarded to UC Davis’ Anna Temple for the second straight season.
Guce earned Cal State Northridge’s first women’s golfer of the year award since 2004 when Beth Allen received top honors.  Guce carded the conference’s second-lowest stroke average of 73.4 and placed in the Top 10 in eight of the nine tournaments she competed in this year.  The senior from Artesia, Calif., finished first in four events, including the Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship where she tied with Edberg but lost the one-hole playoff.  Her efforts at the conference championship led the Matadors to second place, their best showing in 10 years.

Edberg nabbed Cal State Fullerton’s first freshman of the year honor after dominating, not only the Titans, but the conference as well.  Over the course of the year, the Glumslov, Sweden, native, who paced the Titans with a 74.81 stroke average, tallied five Top-5 finishes that included two individual titles at the Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational and the Big West Conference Championship.  At last week’s conference championship, Edberg found herself knotted in first place with Guce after carding a three-round score of 217.  She went on to win the one-hole playoff and capture the school’s first individual title and break the four-year dominance by UC Davis.  Back in March Edberg claimed Big West Women’s Golfer of the Month honors after becoming the first Titan women’s golfer to earn medalist honors in a multi-day event since the program was reinstated for the 2009-10 season.   Edberg accomplished the feat at the Juli Inkster Spartan Invite thanks to three consecutive rounds of 71. 

Temple collected her second straight Big West Coach of the Year accolades after guiding the Aggies to their fifth-consecutive Big West Women’s Golf Championship after carding a team score of 895 (294-297-304), a 16-stroke lead over second place Cal State Northridge. The Aggies’ streak of five straight titles becomes the second-longest stretch of victories in the Big West after San Jose State, who owns the top spot after winning 10-straight championships from 1987-1996. Temple’s accolade marks the fifth straight year UC Davis has earned coach of the year honors with former head coach Anne Walker collecting three from 2010-12.  The Aggies produced seven Top-5 finishes, which includes team titles at the Hoosier Invitational and the Big West Conference Championship.

A trio of Aggies - Betty Chen, Paige Lee and Beverly Vatananugulkit - are joined on the All-Big West First Team list by Guce, Edberg and her Titan teammate Tisha Abrea.   The complete teams are listed below:

Big West Women’s Golf Player of the Year
Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge

Big West Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year
Martina Edberg, Cal State Fullerton

Big West Women’s Golf Coach of the Year
Anna Temple, UC Davis

First Team All-Big West
Tisha Abrea, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.
Betty Chen, UC Davis, So.
Martina Edberg, Cal State Fullerton, Fr.
Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge, Sr.
Paige Lee, UC Davis, Fr.
Beverly Vatananugulkit, UC Davis, Jr.

Second Team All-Big West
Kaley In, UC Irvine, Fr.
Shawnee Martinez, Long Beach State, So.
Kassidy Teare, Long Beach State, So.
Savannah Vilaubi, UC Riverside, Jr.
Taylor Yoshitake, Cal Poly, Sr.

Honorable Mention All-Big West
Cesilie Hagen, Cal State Northridge, Fr.
Isabella Leung, Hawai’i, Fr.
Ronnie Valerio, UC Irvine, Sr.
Andrea Wong, UC Davis, So.