Home Page - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner
Big West Info

Boise State To Join Big West Conference

Files associated with this release:
Boise State_Big West.pdf


IRVINE, CA – The Big West Conference Board of Directors today announced that Boise State University is rejoining the Conference as an eleventh member institution.

Boise State, which initially competed in the Big West from 1996-2001, represents the third recent membership addition to the Conference.  The University of Hawai‘i, Manoa officially joined the Big West on July 1, 2012.  San Diego State University and Boise State are simutaneously set to come on board effective July 1, 2013.

“The Big West Conference welcomes an established, nationally recognized institution in Boise State at a time of unprecedented growth for its members,” said Long Beach State University President Dr. F. King Alexander, Chair of the Big West Board of Directors, who made the announcement. “We look forward to BSU contributing to the conference’s national standing as it continues to evolve.”

Beginning in 2013-14, Boise State will participate in 13 Big West championship sports: men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s golf, women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track and field, and women’s volleyball.

The BSU and SDSU football programs will compete in the Big East Conference beginning in 2013.

“The additions of Hawai‘i, San Diego State and now Boise State have presented opportunities for the Big West Conference to further grow its national profile,” said Big West Commissioner Dennis Farrell.  “The establishment of the Big West Basketball Tournament at Anaheim’s Honda Center, heightened television exposure and a fortified group of members have positioned the Conference for continued success moving forward.”

The Big West Conference is a member of NCAA Division I and includes California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; California State University, Fullerton; California State University, Northridge; Long Beach State University; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of California, Riverside; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Hawai‘i, Manoa; and the University of the Pacific.  San Diego State University becomes a member effective July 1, 2013.  Pacific will no longer be a conference member effective July 1, 2013.

Welcome back, Boise State