Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Big West Men's Golf Set For NCAA Regionals


The Big West will send two teams and two individuals to compete in postseason regional play of the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship on May 17-19, it was announced on Monday.
Big West men’s golf champion UC Davis was awarded the No. 13 seed at the Stanford Regional, which will be held on the par-70, 6,727-yard Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.
This is the second-consecutive year that the Aggies have earned the automatic berth to the NCAA Championship after capturing the Big West tournament title last week at the La Quinta Mountain Course in La Quinta, Calif. It is also the third time in four years that UC Davis has joined postseason play after earning the bid in 2009 and 2011.
Runner-up at the Big West Championship, Long Beach State will be taking part in the postseason show in the Athens Regional as an at-large No. 7 seed.  The 49ers will compete among 13 teams at the University of Georgia Golf Course hosted by Georgia. The 49ers are making their third appearance in the NCAA Tournament and first since 2004.  First-year head coach Mickey Yokoi has led LBSU to a school record five tournament championships and a No. 40 ranking in the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings.

Individually, Pacific’s Alex Edfort and UC Irvine’s Allan Jun will join eight other individuals at the Stanford Regional for postseason play. Edfort was the individual medal winner at the Big West Championship while Jun led the Anteaters with three top-10 finishes this season. Chris Russo of Cal State Northridge will aslo be competing in the individuals race at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, NC.
Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 17-19. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on one of the participating teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The top five teams and one individual not on one of those teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championship at the Riveria Country Club in Pacific Palisades, May 29-June 3.