Women's Water Polo - bigwest.org



Smile Generation Geico
Women's Water Polo

UC Irvine Earns No. 4 Seed For NCAA Championship

Files associated with this release:
2012 NCAA Women's Water Polo Bracket
12_WWP Release No. 15

Links associated with this release:
NCAA Women's Water Polo Central


Big West regular season and tournament champion UC Irvine secured the No. 4 seed for the 2012 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship, which will be held May 11-13 at the Aztec Aquaplex with San Diego State serving as host.

The Anteaters (24-6, 5-0) square off against No. 5 seed Loyola Marymount in the fourth and final match of the opening round of the eight-team tournament at 5:15 p.m. on Friday, May 11.

Other first round matchups pit No. 1 seed Stanford versus No. 8 seed Pomona-Pitzer, No. 2 seed UCLA against No. 7 seed Iona and No. 3 seed USC against No. 6 Princeton. 

UCI won its fourth straight Big West Tournament championship after defeating Cal State Northridge (8-3) and host UC Davis (10-5).  The Anteaters set the school record for victories with the win over the Aggies in the finals.

UCI competed as a No. 5 seed in the 2011 NCAA Championship and finished 2-1.  The Anteaters lost to USC in the first round and followed up with wins over Iona and Indiana in the losers bracket.

NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship
Aztec Aquaplex • San Diego, Calif. • Host: San Diego State

All Times Pacific

Friday, May 11
No. 2 UCLA vs. No. 7 Iona - 12:00 p.m.
No. 3 USC vs. No. 6 Princeton - 1:45 p.m.
No. 1 Stanford vs. No. 8 Pomona-Pitzer - 3:30 p.m.
No. 4 UC Irvine vs. No. 5 Loyola Marymount - 5:15 p.m.

Four-Peat For ‘Eaters
UC Irvine achieved its fourth straight Big West Tournament championship after defeating Cal State Northridge and host UC Davis at the Schaal Aquatics Center last weekend.

The top-seeded Anteaters improved to 10-0 all-time at the tournament and advanced to their second straight NCAA Championship as the automatic qualifying representative from the Big West.  Tournament Most Valuable Player Jessy Cardey scored seven of her team’s 18 goals in the two victories, including four in the title match.

UC Irvine has won 20 straight games against Big West opponents in regular season and tournament play dating back to the 2010 season.  The Anteaters last lost a Big West conference match on April 3, 2010 against UC Santa Barbara.

The Anteaters have performed the most impressively of any Big West program since women’s water polo became an official conference sport in 2009.  They have the best winning percentage in conference games (17-3, .850), tournament games (10-0, 1.000) and overall games (83-37, .692).  Only Cal State Northridge (88) has more total overall wins among Big West programs. 

Poll Notes
UC Irvine has held strong at No. 6 in the Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Association poll for eight straight weeks.  The No. 6 ranking is UCI’s highest and the highest ranking by a Big West program since the conference began sponsoring the sport in 2009.  The Anteaters attained a school record national ranking of No. 5 in 2007.

UC Davis is the next highest Big West team in the polls at No. 11, followed by No. 16 UC Santa Barbara and No. 18 Cal State Northridge.  The Big West has had at least four teams ranked in the CWPA top 20 in every week of the poll since 2009.

Big West In NCAA Championship
The Big West received an automatic qualification to the NCAA Championship for the first time in league history in 2011.  Once again, the Big West Tournament champion will earn one of eight slots for the 2012 NCAA Women’s Water Polo Championship, which will be played May 11-13 at the Aztec Aquaplex in San Diego, Calif.  Host San Diego State will become an official member of the Big West in 2013.