Tennis -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Indian Wells Hosts Tennis Championships This Week

Files associated with this release:
MW Tennis Release No. 13
2012 Men's Tennis Bracket
2012 Women's Tennis Bracket


Indian Wells Tennis Garden hosts the Big West Championships for the ninth straight year as the six men's and nine women's squads descend on the desert from April 25-28.  The Cal Poly men and Long Beach State women are respective No. 1 seed and completed the conference regular season schedule undefeated.


Cal Poly Men Finish Regular Season Undefeated In Conference
Cal Poly concluded the Big West regular season 5-0 to become the third men’s tennis team in conference history to finish undefeated.  The 2011 UC Irvine squad went 5-0 as well.  In 2007, Cal Poly notched a 4-0 record.  As a result, the Mustangs enter this year’s Big West Championships as the No. 1 seed and receive a first round bye.  They play the winner of No. 4 seed Pacific and No. 5 UC Davis in the semifinals on Saturday at Indian Wells Tennis Garden.  One of the most prestigious facilities in the United States, IWTG hosts the Big West Tennis Championships for the ninth straight year.

The Mustangs are currently ranked No. 63 in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association rankings and enter the tournament 13-7 overall.  Six of their losses have come against ranked opponents.  It is the third time in program history that Cal Poly is the No. 1 seed in the tournament – 2010 and 2007 are the others.  The Mustangs are looking to win their first tournament championship, with their best previous finishes being runner-up in 2010 and 2007.

Cal Poly is led by junior Andre Dome, the team’s No. 1 singles player who owns a 14-4 record in dual matches.  He is ranked No. 40 in singles in the ITA rankings.  At one point, Dome sported an 11-match winning streak.

UC Santa Barbara is the No. 2 seed and looks to return to the winner’s circle for the first time since 2009.  The Gauchos won four straight championships in Indian Wells from 2006-09.  UCSB is 13-9 overall with a win over No. 22 Texas Tech on its résumé and, like Cal Poly, has played a tough schedule with all nine losses coming to ranked teams.  Two-time defending tournament champion UC Irvine is the No. 3 seed this year.

Long Beach State Goes For Eighth Title In Nine Years At Indian Wells
The Long Beach State women’s tennis team posted a perfect conference record, going 8-0 in Big West play to secure the No. 1 seed for the Big West Championships.  The No. 43-ranked 49ers attempt to continue their dominance out at Indian Wells, where they have won seven of the previous eight tournaments at the facility.

The 49ers enter the tournament with momentum as they knocked off No. 34 Pepperdine in the regular season finale.  It was the first time in LBSU history that they had beaten the Waves.  As far as Big West play goes, LBSU captured its sixth regular season title in the last seven seasons and finished undefeated for the fifth time since 2006.  The 2010 (8-0), 2009 (8-0), 2008 (8-0) and 2006 (7-0) squads also accomplished the feat.
Looking to upset the 49ers and take home tournament glory are No. 2 seed UC Davis and No. 3 seed UC Irvine.  The Aggies finished strongly with wins in four straight and six of the last seven contests, and claimed their highest tournament seed in program history.  The Anteaters are the only other ranked Big West squad at No. 72.  Cal Poly or UC Santa Barbara also could contend.  The Gauchos took LBSU to the limit on April 7 and lost a heartbreaking 4-3 contest to the 49ers.