Tennis -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

UC Irvine, Pacific Advance To Men's Tennis Tournament Finals


Pacific gritted out a 4-3 comeback victory against Cal Poly, while UC Irvine held off UC Santa Barbara 4-1 in men's tennis semifinal action at Indian Wells Tennis Garden Saturday.  The fourth-seeded Tigers battle the No. 1 seed Anteaters at 9:00 a.m. on Sunday for the crown.


No. 1 seed UC Irvine earned a 4-1 win against fourth-seeded UC Santa Barbara in the semifinals of the Big West Men's Tennis Championship at Indian Wells Tennis Garden Saturday.

UC Irvine (18-7) advances to the championship match for the third straight season and looks to win its second straight title.  The Gauchos ended their season at 10-15.

The Anteaters won the doubles point to take a 1-0 lead in the match.  Ryan Cheung and Fabian Matthews were victorious at No. 3 against UCSB's Philip Therp and Evan Jurgensen by an 8-1 score.  UCI clinched the point with a win at No. 2 by Steven Henderson and Sam Gould, who overcame Benjamin Recknagel and Mathieu Forget, 8-5.

The lead extended to 3-0 when UCI recorded wins at No. 3 and No. 6. Matthews recorded a 6-2, 6-3 win against Forget and Henderson followed with a 6-4, 6-2 triumph versus Therp.

The Gauchos got on the board at No. 2 singles with Alex Konigsfeldt's 6-3, 6-3 victory against Gould.  UCSB continued to press but could not win at court No. 1, as UCI's Chris Kearney prevailed in a tough 7-5, 7-5 test against Alex Konigsfeldt.  Kearney battled back from a 4-0 deficit in the second set to prevail.  The match at No. 4 was tied at a set apiece and UCSB led on court No. 5, but those were abandoned once the match had been decided.

1. Kearney/Stege (UCI) vs. Konigsfeldt/Chavez-Goggin - DNF
2. Henderson/Gould (UCI) def. Recknagel/Forget (UCSB) - 8-5
3. Cheung/Matthews (UCI) def. Therp/Jurgensen (UCSB) - 8-1

Order of Finish:
3, 2

1. Chris Kearney (UCI) def. Benjamin Recknagel (UCSB) - 7-5, 7-5
2. Alex Konigsfeldt (UCSB) def. Sam Gould (UCI) - 6-3, 6-3
3. Fabian Matthews (UCI) def. Mathieu Forget (UCSB) - 6-2, 6-3
4. Ryan Cheung (UCI) vs. Taylor Chavez-Goggin - DNF
5. Shan Sondhu (UCI) vs. Max Glenn (UCSB) - DNF
6. Steven Henderson (UCI) def. Philip Therp (UCSB) - 6-4, 6-2

Order of Finish:
3, 6, 2, 1


Pacific staged an epic comeback in rallying from a 3-0 deficit to win 4-3 against Cal Poly in the semifinals of the Big West Men's Tennis Championship on Saturday at Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Sophomore Alex Golding earned the deciding point for the Tigers, winning a marathon 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 (3) battle against Cal Poly's Marco Comuzzo at No. 5.  It completed a mammoth comeback that included four straight singles victories.

Cal Poly rushed out to the 3-0 lead on the strength of doubles wins at No. 1 and No. 3, and successive victories at No. 6 and No. 1 singles by Sebastion Bell and Andre Dome.  Dome's 6-1, 6-2 triumph over Artem Gramma put the Mustangs in great position to close out the match.

But the Tigers slowly chipped away at the deficit.  Pacific junior Tomasz Krzyszkowski put his team on the board with a 6-4, 6-1 triumph against Alexander Sonesson at No. 2.  Fernando Ristow made the score 3-2 with his 6-0, 2-6, 6-3 win at No. 3 against Jordan Bridge.

At No. 4, Pacific's Ivan Castro outlasted Brian McPhee in a long first-set tiebreaker to lead him in a 7-6 (11), 6-3 victory, setting up the showdown between Golding and Comuzzo at court No. 5.

Pacific (13-10) reaches the championship match for the first time since 2008 and seeks its first title since 2004.  The Mustangs (14-5) are ranked No. 45 in the nation and hope to receive an at-large bid to the NCAA Championships.  The tournament field will be announced on Tuesday, May 3 at 2:30 p.m. (PDT) on

1. Dome/Sonesson (CP) def. Castro/Golding (PAC) - 8-3
2. Comuzzo/Bridge (CP) vs. Ristow/Thomson (PAC) - DNF
3. McPhee/Jacobs (CP) def. Gramma/Krzyszkowski (PAC) - 8-5

Order of Finish:
1, 3

1. Andre Dome (CP) def. Artem Gramma (PAC) - 6-1, 6-2
2. Tomasz Krzyszkowski (PAC) def. Alexander Sonesson (CP) - 6-4, 6-1
3. Fernando Ristow (PAC) def. Jordan Bridge (CP) - 6-0, 2-6, 6-3
4. Ivan Castro (PAC) def. Brian McPhee (CP) - 7-6 (11), 6-3
5. Alex Golding (PAC) def. Marco Comuzzo (CP) - 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 (3)
6. Sebastion Bell (CP) def. Lance Dugan (PAC) - 6-3, 6-3

Order of Finish:
6, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5