Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Big West Men's Golf Championship Begins Monday

Links associated with this release:
Live Results
Big West Men's Golf Championship Information


The nine Big West Conference members are gearing up for the 2011 Big West Men's Golf Championship, which takes place Monday, May 2 and Tuesday, May 3 at the Mission Viejo Country Club in Mission Viejo, Calif.

Tee times begin at 7:30 a.m. both days with live scoring at

Sporting a conference-low 288.72 team stroke average, UC Davis enters next week's event as the favorite. The Aggies are led by Matt Hansen and his 71.93 stroke average, which narrowly places him behind Big West leader Nick Delio (71.63) from Cal State Northridge.

At last year's championship, UC Irvine reclaimed the Big West men's golf title after a one-year hiatus. The Anteaters, who have won three championships in the past four seasons, carded a 9-over 873 for the championship and was followed by Pacific with a score of 890. Long Beach State rounded out the top three with a 895 showing.

UC Irvine's John Chin claimed the second medalist honor of his Anteater career with a 7-under 209 for the tournament. Chin was the lone player to finish below-par for the tournament as he posted a score nine strokes better than the runner-ups. T.J. Bordeaux of Pacific and Pace Johnson of Cal Poly.