Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

April News & Notes

Files associated with this release:

Links associated with this release:
Big West Golf Championship Page


Big West Women's Golf Champion Tees Off April 17-19: The 2011 Big West Women's Golf Championship returns to Tijeras Creek Golf Club from Sunday, April 17 through Tuesday, April 19 after holding the event at the San Luis Obispo Country Club the previous two seasons. All seven league squads are set to compete in the three-day event.

Claiming its first-ever title a year ago, defending champion and nationally-ranked (GolfWeek) UC Davis enters the tournament as the favorite. The Aggies are led by Demi Rumas, who owns a league-best 74.2 stroke average, while teammates Amy Simanton and Alice Kim are tied for third lowest in the conference at 75.2.

At last year's championship, the individual crown went to the Aggies' Chelsea Stelzmiller who won in a three-hole playoff against teammate Amy Simanton. UC Davis had four golfers finish in the top five on its way to a 900 (298-299-303) to win the title at 36-over, 19 strokes better than defending champion Long Beach State. Finishing up in third was UC Irvine (925), while tournament host Cal Poly wrapped up the top four (948). Fifth place went to Cal State Northridge at 959, while UC Riverside (970) and Cal State Fullerton (995) completed the 2010 Womens Championship.

UC Davis Hosts Final Event Of Spring Season: UC Davis women are teaming up with Oregon to host the inaugural Pacific Coast Intercollegiate at The Ocean Course at Half Moon Bay Golf Links in Half Moon Bay, Calif. Joining the Aggies in the April 4-5 event is Big West member Long Beach State.

UC Riverside Men Set To Host The Braveheart Classic: For their final tune-up before the Big West Men's Golf Championship (May 2-3), the UC Riverside men's team is hosting the annual UC Riverside Braveheart Classic at Oak Valley Golf Club in Beaumont, Calif. Conference foes Cal Poly, Cal State Northridge, Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara are also slated to compete in the two-day event that is scheduled for April 11-12. In 2010, Arizona won the team title with a 6-under-par 858 (293-284-281), while Long Beach State finished second (878), and Cal State Northridge and Santa Clara tied for third with identical scores of 885.

UC Santa Barbara and UC Davis Collect Golfer Of The Month Accolades: The Big West Conference Golfer of the Month honors for March were awarded to UC Santa Barbara's Glen Scher, on the mens side, and UC Davis' Amy Simanton for the women.

Scher became the first UC Santa Barbara golfer in more than four years to win an individual championship when he posted a 7-under-par 209 (70-67-72) to earn the title at the 2011 Barona Collegiate Cup held at the Barona Creek Golf Club in Lakeside, Calif. The Agoura Hills native, finished one shot better than Scott Smith of Nevada and J.J. Spaun of San Diego State.

Along with his impressive win at the Barona Collegiate Cup, Scher posted two additional Top 20 scores. He opened the month tying for 16th place with a three-round total of 221 (76-74-71) and closed out March finishing 20th at the OGIO UCSB Invite with a 225 (73-73-79) score.

Simanton was one of four Aggies to place in the top 10 at the Fresno State Lexus Classic after posting the fourth-best score of 222 (74-73-75). Her stellar performances assisted UC Davis in grabbing the team title, the Aggies first victory of the season. A few weeks later the Lake Oswego, Ore., native fired a 1-under 71 in the first round of the Battle at Rancho Bernardo tournament. Simanton went on to pace the Aggies with a three-round score of 221, placing her 11th in the 95-person field.

Others nominated: Men- Geoff Gonzalez (Cal Poly), Kevin Roy (Long Beach State), Tyler Raber (UC Davis), Kevin Fitzgerald (UC Riverside). Women - Taylor Yoshitake (Cal Poly), Simone Hoey (Long Beach State), Patty Chawalitmetha (UC Irvine), Christy Fogerty (UC Riverside).