Men's Baseball -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy


Smile Generation Geico

Weekly Honors Awarded To CSF's Trajano And LBSU's Stuart


Cal State Fullerton's Anthony Trajano and Long Beach State's Shawn Stuart assisted in their team's success last week, which earned them Big West Baseball Player and Pitcher of the Year honors.

Trajano recorded a hit in all four of the Titans' games last week, extending his hitting streak to five games and had either scored the game-winning run or drove home the game-winner in each of the four wins. He drove in a team-leading seven runs, while hitting .462. In the Titans' midweek contest versus Loyola Marymount, Trajano scored the eventual game-winning run in the second inning and also singled and drove in a run in the 5-1 win over the Lions.

He drove in a season-high four runs in Friday night's opener with USC and on Saturday he drove home two and wound up scoring the game-winning run after doubling in the Titans' four-run 5th inning. In the final game of the series, the Moreno Valley, Calif., native tripled and scored the winning run of the 2-1 win over USC to assist Cal State Fullerton in a sweep of the Trojans.

Stuart picked up two wins on the week for Long Beach State as the 49ers went 3-1 overall. On Tuesday, the Turlock, Calif., native entered the game with two runners on and tossed 2.1 innings of one-hit relief and earned the win after a ninth-inning walkoff victory. Making his first start of the season against No. 15 Oregon on Sunday, Stuart gave up a double to the first batter, who later scored, but spread out two hits over the next seven innings, striking out four in a 4-1 victory over the Ducks.

For the week, the 6-3 junior posted a 0.96 ERA in 9.1 innings pitched and struck out six batters.

Other players nominated: Mike Miller (Cal Poly), David Popkins (UC Davis), Brian Hernandez (UC Irvine), Mark Haddow (UC Santa Barbara), Ryan Goetz (UC Riverside).

Other pitchers nominated: Mason Radeke (Cal Poly), Noe Ramirez (Cal State Fullerton), Anthony Kupbens (UC Davis), Eddie Orozco (UC Riverside), Jesse Meaux (UC Santa Barbara).