Home Page - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Big West Info

Big West Conference Lifts Membership Moratorium

Files associated with this release:
Moratorium Release


The Big West Conference Board of Directors today announced that it has voted to lift the membership moratorium, which has been in place since July 2005.  The Board's action was taken following the development of a process for assessing possible new members.
"This action by the Board of Directors positions the Big West Conference in this time of dynamic conference realignment to assess expansion if presented with candidates that fit the current membership's profile and share their intercollegiate athletic values and goals," said Commissioner Dennis Farrell.  "It is important to note that there is no commitment or time table established for expanding beyond the current membership of the Big West."
The Big West Conference is a member of NCAA Division I and includes California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; California State University, Fullerton; California State University, Northridge; Long Beach State University; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of California, Riverside; University of California, Santa Barbara; and the University of the Pacific.