Swimming & Diving - bigwest.org

UC Davis Honored with Three Major Swimming & Diving Awards

Files associated with this release:


After sweeping the 2010 Big West Championship titles, UC Davis also snagged a fair amount of hardware as the team claimed six major swimming awards it was announced today.

UCD's take included the Men’s Athlete of the Year in Scott Weltz and both coaching honors in Co-Men's Coach of the Year Pete Motekaitis and Women's Coach of the Year Barbara Jahn. Cal Poly snagged a pair of awards as David LaFlamme was named Men's Freshman of the Year and Angie Haven claimed the Women's Freshman of the Year accolades. UC Santa Barbara also came away with a pair of honors as Anne Marie May was named Women's Athlete of the Year and Gregg Wilson was named Co-Men's Coach of the Year.

Weltz, a senior from San Jose, Calif., becomes the eighth athlete in Big West history to win back-to-back Men's Athlete of the Year accolades. He was the lone three-time individual winner at the 2010 Big West Swim Championships, netting top honors in the 200 IM (1:45.55), 100 fly (47.17) and the 200 breast (1:56.14). Weltz also swam an incredible time trial of 53.78 in the 100 breast. In addition, Weltz won nine events over his career at the Big West Championships and owns four conference records.

LaFlamme, a native of Ripon, Calif., ended his freshman season with a bang at the Big West Championships. He picked up a third place finish in the 50 free, fourth in the 100 free and sixth in the 100 fly. LaFlamme's third place showing in the 50 free was also the best individual finish by a male freshman in any event and he was the lone freshman to attain spots in three different individual finals at the meet.

Motekaitis won a share of the Coach of the Year honor after leading the Aggies to an impressive season which included the program's first Division I conference championship. His contingent beat rival UC Santa Barbara in a dual meet for the first time in program history as a prelude to the Big West Championships. At the league meet UCD put up 958.5 points, the most points in a five team field in Big West Championship history. Motekaitis is also the first coach to win back-to-back Coach of the Year honors since Pacific’s Ray Looze accomplished the feat for four consecutive seasons from 1999-02.

Wilson claimed Coach of the Year honors for the record 15th time led the UCSB men to another solid season. The UCSB men finished second at the Big West Championships with 896.5 points, the most the Gauchos have amassed since a 904-point showing in 2001. After a successful dual season and impressive showings in tournaments, UCSB won 11 titles at the Big West Championships, four of those crowns coming in relay events.

May, a senior from Carmel, Calif., has had an excellent season for UCSB to this point. At the Big West Championships, May won her featured event, the 50 free, by nearly a full second over the second place finisher. May has owned the #1 time in the NCAA in the event since December and has posted the top 50 and 100 free times in the Big West this season. Those two events have been her most dominant as she has swept the two races in five different dual events this season.

Haven, a native of Monrovia, Calif., made a literal splash on the scene for Cal Poly during her freshman campaign. Over the course of her rookie campaign, Haven set school records in the 100 fly, 100 breast, 200 breast and 200 IM. She won three individual titles at the Big West Championships (100 breast, 200 breast, 200 IM) and qualified for the NCAA Championships in three different events (100 breast, 200 breast, 200 IM).

Jahn led the Aggies to their first championship at the DI level, the culimination of another strong season for UC Davis. UCD won six titles at the Big West Championship, helping it post a program-best 864 points. The club’s 800 free relay contingent also set a new conference and meet mark during the Championships, lowering the record by nearly a full second. The Big West championship came on the heels on a dual meet season which saw the Aggies victorious on six occasions.

2010 Men's Athlete of the Year - Scott Weltz, UC Davis
2010 Men's Freshman of the Year - David LaFlamme, Cal Poly
2010 Men's Co-Coach of the Year - Peter Motekaitis, UC Davis
2010 Men's Co-Coach of the Year - Gregg Wilson, UC Santa Barbara
2010 Women's Athlete of the Year - Anne Marie May, UC Santa Barbara
2010 Women's Freshman of the Year - Angie Haven, Cal Poly
2010 Women's Coach of the Year - Barbara Jahn, UC Davis