Track & Field -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Track & Field

LBSU Men, CSUN Women Claim Big West Track & Field Championships

Links associated with this release:
2008 Big West Track & Field Championships Results


The 2008 Big West Track & Field Championships came to an end Saturday as the Long Beach State men and Cal State Northridge women claimed the team titles to cap off an exciting two days of action. The Championships were held at Matador Track on the campus of Cal State Northridge.

The 49er men claimed the championship, its second title in three years, with 185 points, followed by Cal State Northridge with 159 points and Cal Poly with 116 tallies. UC Santa Barbara posted a fourth place finish with 91.5 points, while UC Irvine (83) and Cal State Fullerton (77.5) finished fifth and sixth, respectively. UC Davis (70) and UC Riverside (36) completed the scoring on the men’s side.

The women's standings saw the Matadors win their third consecutive crown with 189 points, 46 points ahead of UC Riverside who finished the Championships with 143 points for second place, its best finish at the conference meet in its Division I history. Third place was secured by Cal Poly who picked up 126 tallies, while Long Beach State's 110.5 points put it in fourth place. Fifth place belonged to Cal State Fullerton with its 89.5 points, with UC Santa Barbara wrapping up the 2008 conference meet in sixth with 60. Rounding out the standings were UC Davis (59) and UC Irvine (42).

On the field side of the final day's ledger, the men's shot put, women's discus and women's triple jump kicked off the day's events.

In the men's shot put, Cal State Northridge claimed the top two slots as Alex Butler (17.80m) and Derek Cooper (17.42m) picked up 18 combined points for the Matadors. Later in the day, Alisha Misiaita picked up the title in the women's side of the event with a winning toss of 15.22 meters, nearly a full meter ahead of second place Julie Dufresne (14.29) of Cal Poly.

Katelyn Ciarelli of Long Beach State claimed her second women's discus title in three years with her winning toss of 49.85 meters. The men's event was completed further down the line as Derek Cooper claimed the crown with a toss of 54.56 meters.

The women's triple jump saw Long Beach State claim more points on the women's side as Miia Mobley (12.52m) outlasted the UC Riverside duo of Allison Wilder (12.41m) and Lauren Reid (12.39m) for the individual crown. She became the first 49er since 1993 to claim the championship in the event. The men's triple jump had Cal State Fullerton’s Garret Myers outlast the 2007 conference and national champion Dashalle Andrews with a mark of 15.75 meters. Andrews finished with an effort of 15.67 meters.

The men's pole vault was a freshman sweep as the top three slots were all occupied for first-year competitors. The winner was Connor Landry of Cal Poly with an effort of 5.05 meters, the lone athlete who was able to clear five meters on the bar. Cal State Fullerton's Andrew Sullivan (4.90m) and Landry's teammate Kyle Inks (4.90) completed the frosh 1-2-3 finish.

The most impressive result of the day might have been Cal Poly’s Sharon Day's performance in the high jump. The senior, who won the heptathlon a week ago, cleared the bar at an amazing 1.95 meters. She set the school record, meet record, conference record and stadium record with that mark. It is also believed to be the third best effort in the world this season.

Saturday's track events went fast and furious as 20 events ran championship races.

The first event was the 4x100 relay final that was won by the Long Beach State men and the Cal State Northridge women. LBSU's contingent of Alex Goldberg, Brent Gray, Kelsey Caesar and Austin Fowler won the race with an effort of 39.66. The Matador squad of Shaleisha Mitchell, Sherrina Lofton, Tara Prier and Shelese Ruffin finished just ahead of the 49er women with a time of 45.00.

Next on the agenda was the 1500 meter run, an event that was won by Cal Poly's Joe Gatel on the men's side and Brenda Martinez of UC Riverside on the women's side. Gatel finished the race in 3:47.93, just ahead of teammate Evan Anderson's time of 3:48.03. Martinez led a 1-2 finish for the Highlanders as she finished with a time of 4:22.90, while teammate Lisa Lopez crossed the line after a run of 4:24.19.

The hurdles were brought out for the next event as the competitors readied themselves for the 100 hurdles on the women's side and 110 hurdles on the men's side. Lauren Williams of Cal State Fullerton, who posted an NCAA Regional qualifying time of 13.91, won the women's race, while the men's event went to Thomas Ross of Cal State Northridge who won the event a year ago. He posted a time of 13.77, .21 seconds faster than his winning time of 2007.

In the 400 dash finals, Dayne Comrie of UC Irvine won the men's event, while Shelese Ruffin claimed the title in the women's race. Comrie posted a time of 46.28, while Ruffin topped the field in 53.80. Both times were NCAA Regional qualifying marks.

The 100 meter dash had a familiar feel to them as Brent Gray of Long Beach State and Sherrina Lofton of Cal State Northridge claimed the titles. Gray, who has won the title in 2007, crossed the finish in 10.42 to post an NCAA Regional qualifying mark. Lofton's win in the event marks the fifth consecutive season a Matador has claimed the crown in the event. She finished the sprint in 11.60.

The 800 meter run was all about UC Riverside as the Highlanders claimed the top five spots in the women's race, while picking up the winner in the men's event. Brenda Martinez added her second individual crown of the day by leading the UCR contingent in the women’s race at 2:07.51, while teammate Pedro Ramos had an impressive kick in the final 20 meters to claim the men's championship with a time of 1:51.39.

The hurdles were brought back onto the track for the next event as the 400 meter hurdles claimed center stage. UC Riverside claimed its second women's individual title in as many races as Uchechi Egeonuigwe won the event in 59.86, just ahead of Cal State Northridge runner Julie Eze (60.08) who won the title in 2005 and 2007. The men's race went to Cal State Fullerton as Roberto Archibold claimed back-to-back crowns in the event after crossing the finish in 51.66.

The 200 meter dash was all about multiple winners as Cal State Northridge's Sherrina Lofton and Long Beach State's Brent Gray claimed the titles. Lofton, who previously won the 100 and ran a leg on the first place 4x100 relay contingent, won the crown with an effort 23.50. Gray ran the race in a blistering 20.58, adding the 200 title to his 100 and 4x100 championships.

The 5,000 meter championship was next in line as the day turned to dusk at Matador Track. The women's race was won by Danielle Domenichelli, who also won the 10K the previous day, in 17:06.59, nearly 12 seconds ahead of teammate Bethany Nickless who finished in second place at 17:18.21. The men's jaunt saw UCSB make it a sweep in the race as Chris Ashley took home the crown in 14:49.90. He also made it a double for the Championships as he won the 10K Friday.

The final event of the Championships was the 4x400 meter relay. The Cal State Northridge foursome of Tara Prier, Shelese Ruffin, Desirae Gonder and Sherrina Lofton capped the Matadors' team title with an effort of 3:37.95, an NCAA Regional qualifying time and the fastest in the conference this season. The men's race was also won by the overall champion as the Long Beach State group of Alex Goldberg, Austin Fowler, Kelsey Caesar and Brent Gray ran the best time in the conference this season at 3:08.64.