Tennis -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner

McCann, Pradeep Named Tennis Athletes of the Week


Senior • San Jose, Calif. • Los Alamitos HS

UC Riverside Kyle McCann went 4-0 in singles and doubles competition to notch his third career Big West Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Week honor.

• McCann also became the Highlander all-time wins leader in singles, doubles and overall matches with his successful display on an east coast trip.

• In a 4-3 team loss at Delaware, McCann was the victor at No. 1 singles over Blue Hen counterpart James Wilkinson, 7-6 (4), 6-1.

• His doubles win at No. 2 with partner Andreas Whelan-Merediz clinched the UCR wins record as they edged out Delaware’s Laurenz Lankes and Nathan Benyowitz, 6-4.

• The Highlanders blanked St. Francis Brooklyn (7-0) in their next match, with McCann winning again at No. 1 singles, 6-1, 7-5, over Guillermo Artiz. McCann and Whelan-Merediz won their second consecutive match by a 6-4 score as they dispatched Artiz and Pablo Blasco-Torres at No. 2 doubles. McCann is now 8-5 overall in dual singles matches.

Others nominated: Ivan Thamma (UC Davis); Mateusz Smolicki (UC Irvine); Victor Krustev (UC Santa Barbara)

Jr. • Sugar Land, Texas • Clements HS

UC Davis junior Nikita Pradeep garnered her second career Big West Women’s Tennis Athlete of the Week award after posting an undefeated record against two conference foes.

• The Aggies dropped a pair of road contests to UC Irvine (4-3) and Cal State Fullerton (5-1), but Pradeep was on her game in both clashes.

• At No. 1 singles, Pradeep claimed a 7-5, 6-3 victory over UCI’s Stephanie Nguyen, and then recorded the only Aggie point against CSF with a 6-4, 6-4 triumph against Sarah Nuno.

• Pradeep and partner Shirley Hall competed in just one doubles match, and that went in their favor, defeating Danielle Garrido and Jessica Tsukiji of UCI, 7-5.

• Pradeep has won four straight singles matches, and her only loss came to then-No. 75-ranked Chiara Tomasetti from Northern Arizona in a three-setter.

Others nominated: Susanne Boyden (Cal Poly); Karla Portalatin (Cal State Fullerton); Natalia Munoz (Long Beach State); Arianna Tilbury (UC Irvine); Amit Lev Ari (UC Santa Barbara)