Tennis -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

Moreno de Alboran Earns No. 6 Ranking In Oracle/ITA Poll


ITA Men's Singles Fall Rankings

ITA Article on Nicolas Moreno de Alboran

Nicolas Moreno de Alboran of UC Santa Barbara enjoyed a productive fall season and saw his play rewarded as the senior earned a No. 6 singles ranking in the Oracle ITA Men’s Tennis poll released on Wednesday.

Based on available records, the ranking is believed to be the highest by a Big West player since UNLV’s Roger Pettersson finished No. 8 in the final 1996 ITA poll.  UC Irvine’s Mark Kaplan achieved a ranking of No. 5 in the final 1989 ITA poll.

Moreno de Alboran will carry that ranking from the fall portion of the collegiate tennis season into January when dual match play begins.

In addition, Gaucho teammate junior Joseph Guillin also received rave reviews from the ITA as he landed at No. 22 in the final fall poll, up 73 spots from his preseason ranking.

Hawaii’s Blaz Seric rounded out the trio of Big West representatives positioned in the ITA top 125.  The Rainbow Warrior sophomore is No. 124.

Moreno de Alboran, the 2018 Big West Player of the Year and a three-time first team all-conference standout, recently advanced to the semifinals of the ITA National Fall Championships.  He also reached the quarterfinals of the ITA Southwest Regional.

In September, Moreno de Alboran became the first Gaucho to win a main draw match at the prestigious Oracle ITA Masters, and not only did he win the first one, he was victorious in four straight to reach the finals.  Despite a tough three-set loss to USC's Laurens Verboven in the final, Moreno de Alboran's overall performance set the tone for him to emerge as one of the nation's marquee players entering the spring season.

Guillin also had an outstanding fall season, highlighted by his run to the semifinals of the ITA Southwest Regional.

Moreno de Alboran and Guillin are the centerpieces of a UCSB program that will be seeking a record fifth consecutive Big West Tournament championship.