Women's Soccer - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Women's Soccer

Four Teams Prepare For Big West Tournament


Big West Women's Soccer Weekly Release No. 12



The 2018-19 season marks the 50th anniversary for men’s sports in the Big West Conference, and the 35th for women’s.  All season long the Big West will celebrate the history of all 18 conference-sponsored sports.

There was no Big West Tournament from 1998-2002 and the regular season champion during those years received the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.  The Big West Tournament was played in 1996-97 and returned in 2003.

In the 17 years of the Tournament’s existence, the Big West has awarded 15 Most Valuable Players honors from 2003-2017.  Of those recipients were five goalkeepers, five midfielders, four forwards and one defender.  Cal State Fullerton is home to the most honorees with seven followed by Long Beach State (3), UC Santa Barbara (2), Cal Poly (2) and CSUN (1).  No MVP was named in 1996 or 1997.



Long Beach State earned its fifth Big West regular season championship and its first since sharing the title three-ways in 2018 (Cal State Fullerton, UC Santa Barbara).  The Beach will be the No. 1 seed in the four-team Big West Tournament that begins on Nov. 1.

The 2018 Big West Tournament will feature regular season champion, Long Beach State, tournament host, UC Irvine, UC Santa Barbara and UC Davis.  The four squads battle for an NCAA Tournament berth in the conference’s 18th women’s soccer tourney. 
#1 LONG BEACH STATE BEACH • (10-5-3, 5-1-2)
Last time LBSU won BWT: 2016 (LBSU def. UCI 3-0 in the championship)
Last time LBSU appeared in BWT: 2016 (LBSU def. UCI 3-0 in the championship)
Number of BWT appearances: 10

The Beach looks for its second Big West Tournament title in three years.

#2 UC SANTA BARBARA GAUCHOS (12-6-1, 5-2-1)
Last time UCSB won BWT: 2009 (UCSB advanced on penalty kicks 5-4, after a 1-1 2OT draw in regulation)
Last time UCSB appeared in BWT: 2016 (LBSU def. UCI 3-0 in the championship)
Number of BWT appearances: 7

UC Santa Barbara seeks its third overall Big West Tournament title.  Both of the Gauchos two previous tournament crowns were earned on penalty kicks in the championship.

#3 UC IRVINE ANTEATERS • (8-6-4, 4-1-3)
Last time UCI won BWT: 1997 (def. CP, 3-2 in 2OT)
Last time UCI appeared in BWT: 2017 (CSF def. UCI 2-1 in the semifinals)
Number of BWT appearances: 12

UC Irvine earned home-field advantage after winning the 2017 Big West regular season championship and qualifying for the 2018 tournament.  The Anteaters host for the first time since 1997, the same year the ’Eaters took home its only Big West Tournament crown.

#4 UC DAVIS AGGIES (7-7-4, 4-2-2)
Last time UCD won BWT: N/A
Last time UCD appeared in BWT: 2011 (UCI def. UCD 1-0 in the semifinals)
Number of BWT appearances: 2

UC Davis looks for its first-ever Big West Tournament championship game appearance as the Aggies seek its inaugural conference tourney title.

Big West Conference @BigWestConference @BigWestWSOC
Cal Poly @CalPolySoccer @CPWomensSoccer
Cal State Fullerton @FullertonWSOC @FullertonWSOC
CSUN @Matador_WSoccer @Matador_WSoccer
Long Beach State @LongBeachStateSoccer
UC Irvine @uciwsoc_life @UCIwsoc
UC Riverside @UCR_Athletics @UCR_Athletics
UC Santa Barbara @UCSBWomenSoccer @UCSBWomenSoccer
Hawai'i @UHWahineSoccer @UHWahineSoccer