Cross Country -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Cross Country

Cal Poly Stampedes To Cross Country Championship Sweep

Links associated with this release:
2018 Big West Cross Country Championship Central


Cal Poly stampeded their way to a #BWCXC Championship sweep.2018 Big West Cross Country Championship Results

Cal Poly reigned supreme at the Big West Cross Country Championships, sweeping the team titles for the fifth time in program history. The 2018 Championships, hosted by Cal State Fullerton, marked a return to Carbon Canyon Regional Park in Brea, a site which had not held the league meet since 1997.

The Mustang men won the title thanks to a dominant 32-point showing, putting up 37 more points than second place UC Santa Barbara. Leading the way for the club was Jake Ritter, the overall 8K champion with a time of 24:27.5. Ritter led a contingent that placed fifth, seventh, ninth and 10th for the championship. The title marks the third consecutive, sixth in the last eight seasons and conference record 16th overall. Cal Poly is the lone program to have won double-digit titles in Championship history.

Aside from the Mustangs five different schools were represented in the top 10, earning All-Conference distinction for their efforts. UC Santa Barbara nabbed second and third in Daniel Mountcastle (24:39.1) and Brian Schulz (24:40.5). Michael Merchan (24:41.1) claimed fourth place for CSUN, UC Davis' Jordy Ceja (24:45.5) was sixth and Tyler Spencer (24:50.5) of Long Beach State was eighth.

The women's race was highly anticipated and didn't disappoint as the Mustangs edged homestanding CSF 33-39. Cal Poly's Miranda Daschian earned first place in a course record 21:23.1 over the 5K, with the Titans' Samantha Huerta coming in second at 21:26.5. The Mustangs earned third and fourth in Katie Izzo (21:26.7) and Peyton Bilo (21:41.5), but Fullerton's Trinity Ruelas (21:50.4), Lucina Vincent (21:59.4) and Sandra Flores (22:03.3) finished sixth, eighth and ninth to pull the Titans close. The Mustang title was then clinched by Sierra Brill (22.16.1) and Maddie MacDonald (22:18.2) in 12th and 13th.

Cal Poly's title is the fifth in the last seven seasons for the program. Previous to this current run of success, the Mustangs had not won the title since the 2001 campaign. That was the second of back-to-back championships for the program.


The 2018-19 season marks the 50th anniversary for men’s sports in the Big West Conference, and the 35th for women’s.  All season long, the Big West Conference will celebrate the history of all conference sports.  Join us as we pay homage to the student-athletes, coaches, staffs, communities and fans who have helped pave the way.

• Vince O’Boyle ran one of the most successful programs in Big West history, the UC Irvine women’s cross country team. O’Boyle was at the helm of the program from 1982-2013, shepherding the program from independent to Big West power. He won 12 league titles, 12 Coach of the Year honors and coached 12 Athlete of the Year recipients. All of those achievements are the most by a coach in Big West history.

• UC Irvine established the first dynasty in women’s cross country history, winning the first five titles and nine of the first 10. The 1984 Anteater squad is also the only team in Big West women’s cross country Championship history to post a perfect score of 15. In all, UCI won 11 of the first 20 titles in league history.

Humble Beginnings: A Dynasty Born From Opportunity


Big West Conference @BigWestConference @BigWestXCTF
Cal Poly @CPMustangs @CalPolyTRACK_XC
Cal State Fullerton @FullertonTFXC
Long Beach State @LBSUtrackxc @LBSU_Track_XC
UC Davis @ucdavistfxc @UCDavisXCTandF
UC Irvine @UCIathletics @UCIcctf
UC Riverside @UCRiversideTrackXC @UCR_trackfield
UC Santa Barbara @ucsbtfxc @UCSBtfxc
Hawai'i @HawaiiCrossCountry @HawaiiXCTF