Softball -

UC Riverside, Cal State Fullerton Earn Softball Honors


Sarah Parten helped UC Riverside to a 3-1 record in its first home tournament, while Cal State Fullerton's Taylor Dockins threw her first career no-hitter.

Sophomore • Catcher • Bellflower, Calif./Mayfair HS

UC Riverside sophomore, Sarah Parten (Bellflower,Calif./Mayfair HS), helped the Highlanders to a 3-1 mark at the Amy Harrison Classic to earn Big West Softball Field Player of the Week accolades.

➜ Parten had 10 hits in 18 at-bats – and reached base 13 times to help the Highlanders go 4-2 last week.

➜ Parten hit a three-run home run against No. 21 California to plate all of UCR’s runs in the contest for three RBI.

➜ Led the Highlanders with a .615 average, a .677 on base percentage and a .846 slugging percentage in the Amy Harrison Classic.

➜ Recorded a team-best eight hits, three doubles and five RBI in UCR’s first home tournament.

➜ The catcher posted multiple extra-base hits on the week including three doubles and a homer against ranked Cal.

Other’s nominated: Crimson Kaiser (CP), Brooke Clemetson (CSF), Kira Cauley (CSUN), Jamie Wren (LBSU), Aly Gomonet (UCD), Sammy Fabian (UCSB), Heather Cameron (UH)

Freshman • RHP • Corona, Calif./Norco HS

Cal State Fullerton freshman Taylor Dockins threw a no-hitter against San Diego to earn Big West Softball Pitcher of the Week honors.

➜ Dockins only allowed three baserunners (walk, fielder’s choice and an error) in her first-career no-hitter and the first for Cal State Fullerton since 2013.

➜ The freshman also threw a complete game against Mississippi State, only allowing one run.  Dockins outmatched the Bulldogs which had the best pitching staff heading into the weekend.

➜ Recorded a career-high eight strikeouts while only allowing three hits against Mississippi State.  She recorded 11 strikeouts on the weekend.

➜ Dockins posted a 1.24 ERA through 17.0 innings for a 2-1 record on the week.

Other’s nominated: Lindsey Chalmers (CP), Jillian James (CSUN), Cielo Meza (LBSU), Brooke Yanez (UCD), Tayler Misfeldt (UCR), Lena Mayer (UCSB), Dana Thomsen (UH)