Women's Beach Volleyball - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Women's Beach Volleyball

Rainbow Wahine, 49ers Receive Highest Honors

Links associated with this release:
2017 Women's Beach Volleyball All-Conference


Hawaii's duo of Morgan Martin and Mikayla Tucker join Long Beach State head coach Mike Campbell in earning the highest #BWCHonors of 2017.

The premier awards went to representatives from Hawai‘i and Long Beach State to highlight today’s announcement of the 2017 Big West Beach Volleyball All-Conference team. 
Hawai‘i claimed back-to-back Big West tournament titles in addition to garnering two of the top awards: freshman Morgan Martin and senior Mikayla Tucker earned Pairs Team of the Year honors, while Martin also collected Freshman of the Year accolades. Long Beach State’s Mike Campbell earned Coach of the Year, the first such award for the Beach.
The SandBows and 49ers will represent the Big West Conference at the NCAA Tournament in Gulf Shores, Alabama hosted by the University of Alabama at Birmingham May 5-7.  The championship will have an eight-team bracket that will be played in double-elimination format.
Playing every match at the No. 1 spot this season, Hawaii’s Martin and Tucker received a Pairs Team of the Week nod over the course of the year to help UH to a 26-5 record.   Spearheading the way for the Rainbow Wahine, the duo helped the SandBows maintain a No. 6 national ranking and earn a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Tournament. With a 19-12 overall mark for a .613 win-percentage, the pair will be key at the No. 1 spot for the ‘Bows in the postseason.
Not only did Martin earn Pairs Team of the Year honors, she also received Freshman of the Year accolades for her efforts on the sand. The newcomer highlighted her standout season with 11 straight-set wins in 2017 and will play a big role in Hawaii’s postseason run.  The Rainbow Wahine open NCAA action with Florida State after earning an at-large selection.  Martin is the second-straight ’Bow to receive the accolade.
At the helm for the 49ers, coach Campbell led the Beach to a 26-8 overall mark to earn a No. 1 seed for the conference tournament. The Beach went undefeated versus Big West opposition in the regular season for a clean 8-0 record against league foes heading into the Big West championship. After receiving an at-large selection for the NCAA Tournament, Campbell will take his squad to the championship for the first time where LBSU will face Pepperdine to open postseason play.
The all-conference first team features Hawai‘i duos Emily Maglio and Laurel Weaver and Nikki Taylor and Kai’iwi Schucht in addition to the aforementioned Pairs Team of the Year. Nele Barber and Rachel Nieto represent the 49ers along with teammates Sasha Karelov and Kobi Pekich. From Cal Poly, Emily Sonny and Hannah Hubbard earn first team honors alongside fellow Mustangs, Taylor Nelson and Adlee Van Winden.

The complete 2016-17 Big West women's beach volleyball all-conference team is available at the above link.