Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Final Month Of Play Before Conference Championships


Big West Golf Release - April

Big West At A Glance

UC Davis, Cal Poly Men Set To Host April Event:
The UC Davis men’s golf program hosts its second event of the season April 13-14 with the El Macero Classic at the El Macero Country Club.  The Aggies are scheduled to entertain league members Cal State Fullerton and UC Riverside.  Texas Tech captured the 2015 title while the Aggies finished third in their home event.  Jesse Bratz was the top scoring Aggie last year, finishing seventh after firing a three-round score of 219.

On April 17-18, the Cal Poly men’s team is set to host the Cal Poly Shootout at the Cypress Golf Club in Arroyo Grande, Calif.   Joining the Mustangs are Big West foes CSUN, Long Beach State, UC Irvine an UC Santa Barbara.

Fullerton’s Edberg Captures Fourth Title Of 2016-17:
Senior Martina Edberg recorded her fourth victory this season as she earned medalist honors at the Fresno State Classic hosted by Fresno State at San Joaquin Country Club March 13-14.  Edberg shot an even par round of 72 in the third round to finish with a three-round score of 212, one shot ahead of UC  Riverside’s Jakeishya Le (213).  The Glumslov, Sweden, native currently paces the Big West Conference with a 71.6 and is currently ranked 38th according to GolfWeek.

Looking Ahead:
The 2017 Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship is slated for April 23-25 at the Oak Quarry Golf Course in Riverside, Calif.  The conference championship is a three-day, 54-hole tournament with 18 holes played each day on the par 72, 6,141 yard course.  Admission is free.

In 2016, UC Riverside entered the final round three-strokes back in second place, but fired a blistering, third-round score of 296, a tournament low, to overtake Cal Poly to claim the 2016 Big West Women’s Golf Championship team title at The Bay Course in Kapalua, Hawai’i.  The Highlanders’ efforts earned the program its first-ever women’s golf conference title while dethroning UC Davis, who won the previous six championships, in the process.

The Sandpiper Golf Club in Santa Barbara, Calif., will play host to the 2017 Big West Conference Men’s Golf Championship May 1-3.  Like the women’s event, the men’s championship is a three-day, 54-hole tournament with 18 holes played each day.  Admission is free.

Last year, the UC Riverside Highlanders claimed their first men’s title since 2005 after leading second place Cal Poly by three strokes.  UC Riverside entered the final round of play with a six-stroke lead and never let up as the Highlanders went on to capture the 2016 Big West Conference Men’s Golf Championship at the Wood Ranch Golf Club in Simi Valley, Calif., after carding a three-day score of 2-under 862. 

April/May Tournaments

April 8-9    Western Intercollegiate (Santa Cruz, Calif.) - UCI, UH
April 9-11      Silverado Showdown (Napa, Calif.) - LBSU
April 10-11    Wyoming Cowboy Classic (Chandler, Ariz.) - CSUN, LBSU, UCD, UCSB
April 13-14    El Macero Classic (El Macero, Calif.) - CSF, UCD, UCR
April 17-18    Cal Poly Shootout (Arroyo Grande, Calif.) - CP, CSUN, LBSU, UCI, UCSB
May 1-3    Big West Championship (Santa Barbara, Calif.) - CP, CSF, CSUN, LBSU, UCD, UCI, UCR, UCSB, UH

April 2-4    Hawkeye El Tigre Invitational (Puerto Vallarta, Mexico) - CSF
April 2-4    Silverado Showdown (Napa, Calif.) - UCD
April 6-7    Wyoming Cowgirl Invitational (Maricopa, Ariz.) - UCI, UCR
April 10-11    Bobcat Desert Invitational (Phoenix, Ariz.) - CP
April 23-25    Big West Championship (Riverside, Calif.) - CP, CSF, CSUN, LBSU, UCD, UCI, UCR, UH