Women's Volleyball - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Women's Volleyball

Seven Selected To SoCal Volleyball Hall Of Fame


Seven of the 25-member list for the SCIVBHOF inaugural class have Big West ties.

The 25-member list of the inaugural class of the newly formed Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame was announced earlier this month and seven of the inductees have connections with the Big West Conference. Those elite athletes that claimed a spot on the list are Deitre Collins-Parker, Tara Cross-Battle, Debbie Green, Kathy Gregory, Misty May-Treanor, Jeff Stork and Paula Weishoff.

Collins-Park was a former member of the U.S. national team and a three-time AVCA All-American at the University of Hawaii.  She lead the Rainbow Wahine to consecutive national titles and a 110-5 record in her final three seasons. Collins capped off her career by earning the Broderick Cup honor for the 1982-83 season, given to the nation’s best collegiate athlete in all sports.   She was twice named to the NCAA all-tournament team and still holds the record for solo blocks in one NCAA tournament (15 in 1982). She was one of six players named to the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball 25th Anniversary Team in October 2005.  Collins-Park went on to compete at the National level before she took various roles as a collegiate coach.

Cross-Battle was a four-time All-American, a two-time National Player of the Year and led LBSU to its first NCAA title in 1989.  She also garnered two Big West Player of the Year accolades and seven Big West Player of the Week awards.  She rewrote the 49er record book during her four years (1986-89) at the Beach and finished her career with the third-most kills in NCAA history and set an NCAA Tournament record with 126 kills on the way to LBSU’s first NCAA championship.  Cross-Battle remains the conference’s career kills leader with 2,767 and career kill average leader with a 5.54 mark. Her record-breaking days weren’t done after her collegiate career as she went on to become the first player in the United State to compete in four Olympic Games (Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004). She also competed in three FIVB World Championships for Team USA.

Green, a two-time United States Olympic Volleyball team member, was an assistant coach for the Long Beach State women’s volleyball team from 1986-2008. The two-time collegiate All-American groomed six All-American setters: Brittany Hochevar in 2002, Keri Nishimoto in 2001, Misty May in 1998 and 1997, Joy McKienzie in 1993, Sabrina Hernandez in 1992 and 1991, and Sheri Sanders in 1989. During her tenure with the 49ers, the women’s volleyball program captured 10 Big West Conference titles, three National Championships and two National runner-ups.

Gregory, who retired from coaching at UC Santa Barbara following the 2012 season, guided the Gaucho program to 882 wins and 27 NCAA Tournament appearances in her 38 seasons. Along with Stanford, Penn State and Nebraska, her Gauchos were one of four programs to advance to the first 26 NCAA Tournaments.  Gregory, who began her coaching career in 1975, guided UCSB to three NCAA Elite Eight appearances (1997, 1999 and 2000) and two other Sweet 16’s (1998 and 2002). She was named AVCA National Coach of the Year in 1993, the year her team began ranked No. 17 in the national polls and finished No. 4 with a record of 28-4. In addition to her 1993 national honor, Gregory was a four-time AVCA West Region Coach of the Year and a seven-time Big West Conference Coach of the Year.

May-Treanor was setter for the Long Beach State 49ers from 1995 to 1999.  During her tenure  at LBSU, she captured Three Big West Player of the Year honors, as well as the 1995 Big West Freshman of the Year award and six Big West Player of the Week accolades. In 1998 May-Trainer captained a team that became the first women’s NCAA volleyball team to have an undefeated season ts the 49ers went on to win the  Division I NCAA Women’s Volleyball Championship with a 36-0 record.  She shared the NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player award after setting a tournament record with 20 service aces. She also nabbed the Broderick Cup for the 1998-99 sports season. For her achievements during her time donning the black and gold, she was later inducted into the Long Beach State Athletics Hall of Fame in 2004.  May-Treanor went on to have a successful playing career in beach volleyball through the AVP Tour and the Olympics.

Stork is currently in his 15th season as the head coach of the CSUN indoor volleyball team and his fourth as the beach volleyball head coach. Stork opened the 2016 indoor season as the second winningest coach in Matador women’s volleyball history.  In 2013, Stork was named Big West Co-Coach of the Year, his second of his career, after leading the Matadors to their first-ever Big West championship and a berth in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, a first for CSUN in women’s volleyball.  During Stork’s tenure at Cal State Northridge he has also coached the Men’s National Team during the World League (2009, 2010) and the Boy’s Youth National Team (2010).

Weishoff, who served two seasons as an assistant coach with the U.S. Women’s National Team, coached the UC Irvine women’s volleyball program for six season (2009-2014).  In her first season with UCI in 2009, the three-time Olympian had immediate success. She led the Anteaters to a 22-8 overall record or become the first coach since 1977 to lead the women’s volleyball program to a winning season in her first year at the helm.  The Anteaters set a program record with a .733 win-loss percentage.  The program had resurgence in 2014, as they went 19-12 and finished in fifth place in the Big West.

The Hall of Fame will be housed at the American Sports Centers in Anaheim where the USA men’s and women’s national teams train. An induction ceremony is scheduled for May 7.

In alphabetical order, here are the 25 members of the first ever Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame:

Andy Banachowski
Laurel Brassey-Iversen
Craig Buck
Deitre Collins-Parker
Tara Cross-Battle

Bob Ctvrtlik
Marv Dunphy
Dusty Dvorak
Rolf Engen
Debbie Green
Kathy Gregory

Bryan Ivie
Karch Kiracly
Ricci Luyties
Chris Marlowe
Misty May-Treanor
Kim Oden
Mike O'Hara
Doug Partie
Al Scates
Gene Selznick
Sinjin Smith
Jeff Stork
Steve Timmons
Paula Weishoff