Cross Country -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Cross Country

Cal Poly Leads Big West Contingent At NCAA West Regional

Links associated with this release:
NCAA West Regional Meet Central


#BWCXC Athlete of the Year Peyton Bilo was the top #BigWest finisher at the #NCAAXC West Regional, 9th overall, and led the Cal Poly women to a 10th-place finish.

Cal Poly was the highest finishing Big West club in both the men's and women's races at the NCAA Regional, hoping to make a case for at-large inclusion into the NCAA Championships.

Sophomore Peyton Bilo was the top finisher for the Mustangs and the conference in the women's 6K, finishing the race in ninth in a career-best 19:45.9. Bilo was the only runner from the league to finish in the top 10 and led the Cal Poly squad to a 10th place finish in the 34-team field. UC Santa Barbara junior Jenna Hinkle (20:20.9) and Hawai'i sophomore Camille Campos (20:25.9) gave the Big West two more finishers in the top 40 as they finished 31st and 36th, respectively. UW's Amy-Eloise Neale won the individual title with a time of 19:27.8, 13 seconds better than the runner-up finisher.

The women's 6K team race was won by Stanford with Washington coming in second place. The Cardinal and Huskies claim the automatic team berths to the NCAA Championship by virtue of the 1-2 finish.

In the men's 10K, junior Clayton Hutchins was the top conference finisher with a time of 29:56.4 for 13th place. UC Santa Barbara senior Adam Avila wasn't too far behind Hutchins as he finished up 19th in 30:04.6. The duo were the lone Big West runners to finish in the top 40. The race was won by Edward Cheserek of Oregon in 29:23.7.

The automatic berths on the men's side went to event winner Stanford and runner-up Portland.

The top two teams in each gender at each of the nine Regionals automatically advances to the NCAA Championship, making for 18 teams gaining automatic qualification. The next 13 at-large qualifiers will be determined by a process of counting up points that teams earned with wins over other NCAA qualifiers throughout the year, with the order of finish at Regionals also factoring into the selection process. All competing clubs and individuals will converge on Terre Haute, Ind., for the national meet on November 19 at Wabash Valley Family Sports Center.