Women's Soccer - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Women's Soccer

Fajnor, McKeown Help Propel Squads Into Conference Tournament


Cal State Fullerton and Long Beach State qualified for the Big West Tournament with the help of Sarah Fajnor and Ashton McKeown, who are this week’s women’s soccer award recipients.

Fajnor’s Strike Topples UC Irvine

Cal State Fullerton junior Sarah Fajnor (Fullerton, Calif./Sunny Hills HS) helped her team capture the No. 3 seed in the upcoming conference tournament with a game-winning goal in the season finale, as she notched Big West Women’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Week accolades.

Fajnor scored with little more than four minutes left in the first overtime as the Titans eked out a 2-1 win over the Anteaters on Sunday.  Fajnor entered the box and reversed course from right to left, firing a low shot to the far post for the clincher.  It was the first of her four shots for the match that went on frame.

For the week, Fajnor took six shots with two on goal, as the Titans also lost a narrow 1-0 decision to CSUN.

Others nominated: Kourtney Kutscher (CSUN); Ashley Gonzales (Long Beach State); Nicole Carson (UC Davis); Jessica Miclat (UC Irvine)

McKeown Records Two Shutouts

Long Beach State senior Ashton McKeown (Huntington Beach, Calif./Calvary Chapel HS) earned her second Big West Women’s Soccer Defensive Player of the Week award this season after posting back-to-back shutouts in the regular season’s final two games.

The netminder blanked UC Riverside (0-0) and UC Santa Barbara (1-0), with the four points putting the 49ers in the upcoming Big West Tournament as the host school.

McKeown made five saves in each contest as she secured her sixth and seventh clean sheets of the campaign.  Against the Gauchos with time winding down, McKeown tipped a long shot over the crossbar to preserve the 1-0 win on Senior Day.

She lowered her goals against average to 0.69, which ranks third in the Big West.

Others nominated: Sophia Brown (Cal Poly); Savannah Sloniger (Cal State Fullerton); Lindsay Kutscher (CSUN); Alexis Smith (UC Davis); Kelsey Texeira (UC Irvine); Alanna Guzman (UC Riverside)