Women's Soccer - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Women's Soccer

Ball, Berger Help Teams Remain Unbeaten


UC Santa Barbara and Hawai‘i continued their impressive starts to the 2016 season, aided by top notch performances from Amanda Ball and Monk Berger.

Ball Extends Torrid Start To 2016

UC Santa Barbara junior Amanda Ball (Chino Hills, Calif./Chino Hills HS) continued her scoring onslaught to begin 2016 in earning Big West Women’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Week honors.

With 13 points – six goals and one assist over the last three games – Ball was instrumental in last weekend’s two wins over Pittsburgh and Utah State.

The forward scored twice in UCSB’s 4-0 win over the Panthers.  In Sunday’s 1-0 victory over Utah State, Ball assisted on Maddie Gibson’s game-winner to give the Gauchos a 5-0 start for the first time since 1993.

The goal, at the 60:51 mark, resulted after Ball’s first shot at point-blank range was blocked by the Utah State netminder.  However, Gibson pounced on the rebound and knocked it in from close range.

Others nominated: Macy Vrabel (Cal Poly); Tala Haddad (Cal State Fullerton); Bethany Fitzsimmons (CSUN); Kiana Palacios (UC Irvine); Jessica Samano (UC Riverside); Raisa Strom-Okimoto (Hawai‘i)


Berger Earns Outrigger Soccer Classic Series MVP Accolades

The Most Valuable Player of the Outrigger Soccer Classic, senior goalkeeper Monk Berger (Garden Grove, Calif./Mission Viejo HS) catapulted Hawai‘i to the tournament championship and notched Big West Women’s Soccer Defensive Player of the Week honors.

Berger recorded back-to-back shutouts as the Rainbow Wahine defeated Idaho (2-0) and Saint Mary’s (1-0) on consecutive days.  Despite the lack of a recovery day, Berger was up to the task as she tallied five saves against both opponents.

She has not allowed a goal in her last 321 minutes of action in recording her second and third consecutive shutouts.

UH improved to 5-0-1 on the season, equalling its best unbeaten start since 2007.

Others nominated: Chelsea Barry (Cal Poly); Jennifer Stuart (Cal State Fullerton); Jovani McCaskill (CSUN); Alexis Smith (UC Davis); Andrea Mensen (UC Irvine); Alanna Guzman (UC Riverside); Brittney Rogers (UC Santa Barbara)