Men's Soccer -
Men's Soccer

DePuy Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List


2016 MAC Hermann Watch List

UC Santa Barbara senior forward Nick DePuy is the latest Big West standout to be selected to the Preseason Watch List for the MAC Hermann Trophy award, given to the nation’s top collegiate men’s soccer player.

The Big West has had a watch list representative in 11 of the last 12 years.  DePuy is the eighth Gaucho since 2005 to make the list, comprised of 28 players across the country.  He is also just one of just four who was a semifinalist in last year’s race for the trophy.

As a junior, DePuy led the Big West in goals (15), game-winning goals (8), points (31) and shots (80).  The eight game-winners led the nation, and his overall goals output was No. 1 in the country at the conclusion of the regular season.

DePuy ranks third in the Big West career record book with 14 game-winning goals.  Since moving to forward midway through his sophomore season, DePuy has scored more goals (24) than any other player in the NCAA.  He enters his final campaign as the Big West’s active leader in career goals with 25.

The Irvine, Calif. native wrapped up a tremendous 2015 season with his second consecutive Big West Offensive Player of the Year honor.  He also was named NSCAA First Team All-America and All-Region, as well as All-Big West First Team.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches will vote and the list will be narrowed down to the top-15 players.  College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

From that pool of 15, three finalists will be chosen for the award.  The winner will be announced in January.

since 2005

2016 – Nick DePuy, UC Santa Barbara
2015 – Chase Minter, Cal Poly
2014 – Sagi Lev-Ari, CSUN
            Ismaila Jome, UC Santa Barbara
2013 – Mackenzie Pridham, Cal Poly
2012 – None
2011 – Sam Garza, UC Santa Barbara
2010 – Spencer Thompson, UC Irvine
2009 – Patrick Sigler, Cal Poly
2008 – Chris Pontius, UC Santa Barbara
2007 – Andy Iro, UC Santa Barbara
            Eric Avila, UC Santa Barbara
2006 – Andy Iro, UC Santa Barbara
2005 – Tyler Rosenlund, UC Santa Barbara