Tennis -

Big West Reveals 2016 Men's Tennis All-Conference Team


2016 Big West Men's Tennis All-Conference Team


UC Santa Barbara claimed two of the top honors with the selection of Nicolas Moreno de Alboran as Freshman of the Year and Marty Davis as Coach of the Year, while Alec Adamson of UC Davis captured Player of the Year accolades, highlighting the announcement of the 2016 Big West Men's Tennis All-Conference Team.
Adamson is the first UC Davis recipient of Player of the Year honors.  The junior became the first Aggie men's tennis player to earn a national ranking at the Division I level, opening the season at No. 38 in the Oracle/Intercollegiate Tennis Association poll.  Adamson has maintained that standing for the majority of the season, and is currently the Big West's only ranked singles player at No. 115.  The Corona del Mar, Calif. native owns an 11-9 dual match record playing at No. 1 and No. 2 singles.  Adamson toppled No. 30-ranked Florian Lakat of California, 1-6, 6-3, 10-3, on April 14.  Adamson helped UC Davis set a new Division I standard with its 17th victory of the year after defeating Hawai‘i in the Big West Tournament first round.
Moreno de Alboran becomes the third UC Santa Barbara player – and the first since 2007 – to claim Freshman of the Year accolades.  Bijan Hejazi (2006) and Philip Therp (2007) are the other two recipients of the honor.  The native of New York, N.Y. posted a solid 15-7 dual match record, including 13-4 at No. 2 singles.  Ranked nationally as high as No. 81 during the season, Moreno de Alboran helped the Gauchos knock off four nationally ranked programs in No. 37 Louisville, No. 43 Pepperdine, No. 69 Arizona and No. 38 San Diego State as he won his singles match each time.  Moreno de Alboran also figured heavily in UCSB's back-to-back Big West Tournament championship celebration last weekend as he defeated his Cal Poly opponent in the finals.
Davis earns his eighth Coach of the Year honor, the most in Big West history.  He was previously recognized in 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007 (co), 2008 (co), 2009 and 2012.  In his 17th year at UCSB, Davis led the program to its second straight Big West Tournament title, ninth during his tenure and 10th overall.  The Gauchos enter their ninth NCAA Tournament under Davis with a 17-6 record, including a 5-0 mark in Big West play.  The unblemished conference mark represented the first time since 2012 that a Big West squad finished a full conference slate undefeated.  The 17 victories are the most by a Davis-coached team, and the regular season league crown is UCSB's first since 2008.

The complete All-Conference team can be viewed by clicking on the link above.

Alec Adamson, UC Davis

Nicolas Moreno de Alboran, UC Santa Barbara

Marty Davis, UC Santa Barbara