Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

Big West Announces Women's Golf Awards

Files associated with this release:
2016 Big West Women's Golf All-Conference


Long Beach State’s Kassidy Teare earned 2016 Big West Women’s Golf Player of the Year accolades while her teammate Haley Tygret secured half of the Big West Women’s Golf Co-Freshman of the Year honor as UC Riverside’s Jakeishya Le also earned the distinction.  The 2016 Big West Women’s Golf Coach of the Year was awarded to Sofie Aagaard from Cal Poly.

Teare becomes the first Long Beach State player to garner Big West Women’s Golf Player of the Year since Kay Hoey earned the distinction in 2007.    The senior from Vista, Calif., paced the Big West during the regular season with a 72.1 stroke average.  During the fall she captured individual medalist honors at the Ron Moore Intercollegiate and then followed that up with back-to-back second place finishes at the Las Vegas Collegiate and All There August Challenge.  At the Las Vegas Collegiate, Teare shattered the program record for a three-day score (209) by nine strokes, carding a 16-under 200 on the 6,277-yard Boulder Creek Golf Club course.  To achieve the record, she shot 68 in the first round, followed by consecutive career-best rounds of 66.  Over the course of the season she carded four top top-five finishes, which includes a second place finish at the 2016 Big West Conference Women’s Golf Championship.  Teare also added to her accomplishments, two Big West Golfer of the Month accolades for October and April.

For the second year in a row, a Long Beach State player secures at least a share of the Big West Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year honors as Savannah Knox earned last year’s title.  Tygret, who blasted a 1-over 73 on day one of the Big West Conference championship, finished the event in 18th place with a three-day score of 233.  She entered the championship sporting a 75.8 stroke average.  Her best finish of 12th place came at the 49ers’ home event, The Gold Rush, where she fired a career-low 68 en route to a team-low 222. 

UC Riverside’s Le paced the Highlanders on day three of the Big West Women’s Golf Championship to help the Highlanders secure the program’s first-ever conference title.  After two 80-plus rounds, Le fired a tournament-low 70 in the final round to give UCR a much-needed boost to catapult Cal Poly and nab the title with a three-stroke advantage.  The freshman finished her first conference tournament in 19th place.  She entered the tournament second on the Highlanders’ team with a 75.9 stroke average.  Back in March, Le overcame a one-shot deficit in the final round of the Red Rocks Invitational to claim her first career tournament title with a two-round score of 145.  She becomes the first Highlander to nab freshman of the year honors since Jennifer Bermingham did so in 2006.

Aagaard, the first Cal Poly coach to earn coach of the year honors, guided the Mustangs to five top-five finishes during the 2015-16.  The Mustangs’ best finish of the year was a second place finish at both their home event - Cal Poly Lady Mustang - and the 2016 Big West Women’s Golf Championship, where they led for the first two rounds of the three three-day event.  The second place finish at the conference championship is Cal Poly’s best finish in school history and it all happened under first-year head coach Aagaard.  The Mustangs’ best finish at the conference event prior to this year was third place in 2011.

UC Riverside and UC Davis each nabbed two First Team All-Big West members, while Cal State Fullerton and Long Beach State each secured one spot on the first team.   The complete teams are listed below:

Big West Women’s Golf Player of the Year

Kassidy Teare, Long Beach State

Big West Women’s Golf Co-Freshman of the Year

Jakeishya Le, UC Riverside
Haley Tygret, Long Beach State

Big West Women’s Golf Coach of the Year
Sofie Aagaard, Cal Poly

First Team All-Big West

Martina Edberg, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.
Hannah Facchini, UC Riverside, So.
Jakeishya Le, UC Riverside, Fr.
Paige Lee, UC Davis, Jr.
Kassidy Teare, Long Beach State, Sr.
Andrea Wong, UC Davis, Sr.

Second Team All-Big West

Madison Hirsch, Cal Poly, Sr.
Savannah Knox, Long Beach State, Sr.
Isabella Leung, Hawai’i, Jr.
Haley Tygret, Long Beach State, Fr.
Jennifer Yu, Long Beach State, So.

Honorable Mention All-Big West

Betty Chen, UC Davis, Sr.
Raquel Ek, Hawai’i, Jr.
Paris Griffith, UC Riverside, Jr.
Jamie Harada, Cal Poly, So.
Samantha Hutchinson, UC Davis, Fr.
Haley Wian, UC Riverside, Jr.