Women's Soccer - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico
Women's Soccer

Big West With 14 Players Named to NSCAA Women's All-West Region



2015 NSCAA All-West Region

A total of 14 Big West players were honored on the 2015 NSCAA Women's Division I All-West Region Team as presented by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Continental Tire for their noteworthy performances this season as announced, Thursday.

Six Big West programs appeared on the list including representatives from regular season tri-champions in Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara in addition to Cal Poly, CSUN and UC Riverside.

The West Region is comprised of schools from the Big West, West Coast and Western Athletic conferences.

The Big West Tournament champions led the way and placed three on the first team in Big West Offensive Player of the Year, Rebecca Wilson, Big West Midfielder of the Year, Christina Burkenroad, and Big West Defender of the Year, Morgan Batcheller.

Wilson paced the conference with 19 scores on the year and 10 assists for a league-leading 48 points in 2015.  Teammate Christina Burkenroad recorded a Big West-best 11 assists in her senior campaign with a conference second-best 11 goals for 33 points.  Batcheller helped her squad to a 1.01 goals-against average and led the Titans to their third NCAA Tournament in three years.

UC Riverside's Amber Marani represented the Highlanders on the first-team after helping her team to a 11-9-0 overall record that included a trip to the Big West Tournament.  The senior started every match this season and commanded the backfield for UCR while the Highlanders allowed just 19 goals over the course of the season.

Cal Poly placed Elise Krieghoff on the first team after a year that saw six goals and one assist for 14 points.  The senior netted a game-winner against UC Irvine on Oct. 23 and recorded the second-most shots taken in league with 70 in 2015.  In her final collegiate campaign, Krieghoff received her third All-West Region recognition.

All-West second team honorees included UC Santa Barbara's Sydney Fuertes and Mallory Hromatko and Long Beach State's Mimi Rangel and Ashley Gonzales.

Long Beach State's Val Margerum, UC Riverside's Blanca Barrio and Tyler Cunningham, UC Santa Barbara's Amanda Ball and CSUN's Cynthia Sanchez received third-team honors.