Men's Soccer -
Men's Soccer

Minter Targeted For MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List


2015 MAC Hermann Watch List

Cal Poly's Chase Minter has been targeted for the top college soccer award in the nation.

Cal Poly senior Chase Minter recently was tabbed as one of 30 contenders for the 2015 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious award for college soccer’s national player of the year.

Minter’s placement on the 30-player “Watch List” comes on the heels of a 2014 campaign in which he was selected Big West Midfielder of the Year and was named to the NSCAA All-Far West Region First Team.

The Heath, Texas native is the third Mustang player to appear on the Hermann Trophy watch list, following Mackenzie Pridham in 2013 and Patrick Sigler in 2009.

Read the Cal Poly Release

Minter tallied 19 points on seven goals and five assists in 2014.  He ranked third in the Big West in points, while tying for third in both goals and assists.  Minter also took a conference sixth-best 53 shots.

His 15 career assists rank him second at Cal Poly all-time, and he is tied for ninth with 33 points.

The Big West has had at least one player on the Hermann Trophy watch list in 10 of the last 11 years.

The list is compiled by the NSCAA Men’s NCAA Division I All-America Committee, based on analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches whose programs are current NSCAA College Services members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players.  College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome. 

From that pool, three finalists will be chosen for the award.  The winner will be announced Friday, Jan. 8, 2016, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.


since 2005

2015 – Chase Minter, Cal Poly
2014 – Sagi Lev-Ari, CSUN
            Ismaila Jome, UC Santa Barbara
2013 – Mackenzie Pridham, Cal Poly
2012 – None
2011 – Sam Garza, UC Santa Barbara
2010 – Spencer Thompson, UC Irvine
2009 – Patrick Sigler, Cal Poly
2008 – Chris Pontius, UC Santa Barbara
2007 – Andy Iro, UC Santa Barbara
            Eric Avila, UC Santa Barbara
2006 – Andy Iro, UC Santa Barbara
2005 – Tyler Rosenlund, UC Santa Barbara