Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

Big West Sends Two Teams, Individual To NCAA Regionals

Links associated with this release:
Live Scoring
NCAA Men's Golf Championship Release


The Big West Conference is sending two teams and one individual to the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship set for May 14-16 as announced earlier today by the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee.  Big West men’s golf champion UC Irvine is joined by the UC Davis Aggies, who received an at-large berth, and Cal Poly’s Justin De Los Santos, the lone individual at-large selection.
Making its 13th appearance in the NCAA regionals, the Anteaters are headed to The Rawls Course in Lubbock, Texas, as the 12th seed.  Texas is the top seed of the regional and is followed by host Texas Tech and Auburn.   Pete Fernandez, Big West’s March Golfer of the Month, paces UC Irvine and ranks second in the conference with a  71.5 stroke average.  UC Irvine is looking to advance to its fourth NCAA Championship (1992, 2001 and 2008).

While the Anteaters are headed to the Lone Star State, the Aggies stay closer to home with a short trip north to Bremerton, Wash., to compete at the Gold Mountain Golf Club as the 10th seed.  South Carolina is the top seed and is followed by host Washington and USC.  Luke Vivolo enters the postseason with a conference-low 71.3 stroke average and has posted four top 10 performances, including individual medalist honors at the El Macero Classic on April 10-12.   With its second at-large bid, UC Davis is making its fifth overall appearance in the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship.

De Los Santos is one of 10 individuals competing at The Farms Golf Club in Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., which is hosted by University of San Diego. He landed in the top 10 in three of the eight tournaments during the 2014-15 season, which includes individual medalist honors at the 2015 Big West Conference Men’s Golf Championship.  The sophomore from Chatsworth, Calif., currently paces the Mustangs with a 72.8 stroke average.  Earlier this season he collected Big West Golfer of the Month accolades for both October and November.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 14-16. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The finals will be conducted May 29-June 3 at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida. South Florida is the host institution for the 2015 championships.

NCAA Regionals

Lubbock, Texas
The Rawls Course
May 14-16, 2015

Participating Teams
1. Texas
2. Texas Tech
3. Auburn
4. North Florida
5. California
6. Houston
7. Louisville
8. Duke
9. Southeastern Louisiana State
10. Purdue
11. Georgia State
12. UC Irvine
13. Charleston Southern

Bremerton, Wash.
Gold Mountain Golf Club
May 14-16, 2015

Participating Teams
1. South Carolina
2. Washington
3. USC
4. Baylor
5. UAB
6. Texas Christian
7. Iowa State
8. Sam Houston State
9. Michigan
10. UC Davis
11. VCU
12. Pepperdine
13. Cleveland State
14. South Dakota