Swimming & Diving - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

Records Fall During Day Three of 2010 Big West Swim Championships; UCSB Women, UCD Men in Lead

Links associated with this release:
2010 Big West Swimming & Diving Championship Page


Day three is in the books at the 2010 Big West Swimming & Diving Championships with the UC Santa Barbara women and UC Davis men in the lead heading into the final day tomorrow. The Championships are being held at Belmont Plaza Pool in Long Beach, Calif.
The Gaucho women are in the pole position with 601 points, with UC Davis in second with 554 and Cal Poly in third with 429. Pacific sits in fourth with 314 points heading into the final day, while Cal State Northridge wraps up the women’s standings with 233 points.
The Aggie men hold a slim lead over UC Santa Barbara, 625-615, setting up a dramatic final day tomorrow. Cal Poly is third with 419 points, while Pacific (309) and Cal State Northridge round out the men’s scoreboard.
The day's first final was the 400 IM and the two winners posted decisive victories over the field. UC Santa Barbara's Jessica Schwalb won the women’s race in an NCAA "B" cut time of 4:17.54, nearly four seconds ahead of the runner up. In the men's race, Cal Poly's Peter Kline swam to first place in a NCAA "B" cut time of 3:46.79, almost eight seconds ahead of the second place finisher.
The 100 butterfly was up next and history was made in the women’s race. Cal State Northridge's Yulia Gavrilova outlasted the field in an NCAA “B” cut 54.25, winning the first individual women's title for the Matadors since 2004 and just the fourth for CSUN's women's team in its tenure in the Big West. UC Davis' Scott Weltz won his second individual title of the 2010 Championships, topping the field in an NCAA “B” cut time of 47.17.
The 200 free was next in the spotlight and Linda Herman brought home the first place points for UC Davis after finishing in an NCAA “B” cut 1:48.89. Scott Vogelgesang of UC Santa Barbara won his second title of the meet with a win in the men’s 200 free, wrapping up the race in an NCAA “B” cut 1:37.57.
Another athlete claimed a second individual title in the next race as Angie Haven of Cal Poly won the 100 breast in an NCAA “B” cut time of 1:02.59, a day after winning the women’s 200 IM. Another historical moment took place in the men’s 100 breast as UC Santa Barbara’s Tim Freeman topped a 20-year old record in the event, completing the race in 53.90, the first time in league history an athlete has swam a sub 54-second 100 breast.
Records continued to fall in the next event, the 100 back, as UC Davis' Ashley Chandler set a meet record with an effort of 54.03 in the women's final. The men’s final saw Kevin Ferguson of UC Santa Barbara claim the crown with an effort of 48.68, an NCAA “B” cut qualifying time.

The meet took a break from the lanes and focused on the diving pool as the women's 3-meter diving final was next. Molly McElrath of Cal Poly was the winner after collecting 229.90 points.

The final event of the day was the 200 free relay and the crowd supplied plenty of energy for the sprint event. UC Santa Barbara came away with a sweep and NCAA "B" cut times in both races as the women won in 1:32.32, while the men took first in 1:19.71.