Swimming & Diving - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

UCD, UCSB Set to Host Swim Meets During Upcoming Weekend

Files associated with this release:


This weekend, the focus of the Big West swimming and diving action is centered on a couple of home pools and UC Davis and UC Santa Barbara are set to host opponents in front of their home fans.

The Aggies have a single opponent coming to Schaal Aquatics Center as the Banana Slugs of UC Santa Cruz take on the men's and women's UCD contingents in a dual meet. The competition will be the first for the men's team in 2009, while the women have already previously participated in two events. A year ago, the Aggies swept the Banana Slugs as the men won by a 180-127 final, while the women were victorious 179-81.

UCSB's women’s team will open its 2009 season in a tri-meet at Campus Pool against Pac-10 foes Oregon State and UCLA. Last season, the Gaucho women competed against the same two opponents in Los Angeles, defeating Oregon State by a 158-87 score, while falling to UCLA, 161-84.

Two more teams will be in action this weekend as Cal Poly and Cal State Northridge head to Pepperdine for the Malibu Invitational. Its the season-opening event for the Mustang men, while the Cal Poly women and both Matador swim teams will compete in their second events of the young season.

Previously in the Big West

UC Davis and Pacific were the lone teams in action last week as the Aggie women hosted Nevada, while both Tiger clubs competed in the Pacific Invitational at Chris Kjeldsen Pool.

The UCD women put forth an excellent effort against the Wolfpack as Bridget Bugbee, Kayleigh Foley and Linda Hermann each claimed individual titles, but Nevada pulled away from UCD to post a 161-139 victory.

The Tigers' women's team finished in third place among the five teams at the Pacific Invitational, led by Elena Walterman, Devonie Migues and a third place 800 free relay team.

The Pacific men wrapped up the event in fifth place among the six teams. Highlighting the meet were Kevin Byers, Daniel Platow and Sean Dunnigan.