Swimming & Diving - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy

Looking Back At The 2007-08 Swimming & Diving Season

Files associated with this release:
Final S&D Release

Links associated with this release:
Big West Top Times
Big West Swimming & Diving Championships Interviews


Erazo, May Earn All-America Honors: UC Irvine Senior Eddie Erazo finished 8th in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:45.20 at the NCAA Men's Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center, earning him All-America accolades. Erazo is UCI's first All-American in men's swimming & diving since current Anteater head coach Brian Pajer accomplished the feat in 1990.

Anne Marie May ended a 22-year drought for the UC Santa Barbara women’s program as she swam a third-place time of 22.00 in the 50 free, earning All-America status. The last time a female Gaucho swimmer placed in the top eight at the NCAA Championships occurred in 1986 when Anne Patterson swam the 100 breast. Her time of 22.00 also set a new Gaucho record.

Anteaters, Gauchos Successful At NCAA Championships: The UC Irvine men's and women's programs registered team points at the NCAA Championship, while the UC Santa Barbara women's program produced a top 25 finish. The Gauchos collected 36 team points to place 25th, marking the first time since 1990 that UCSB scored points at the women’s NCAA Championship. The Anteaters picked up four points to finish 43rd. On the men’s side UC Irvine picked up 11 points, good enough for 34th.

UCSB Sweeps 2008 Big West Swimming & Diving Championship: The UC Santa Barbara Gauchos dominated the Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool this week, setting eight meet records and sweeping the 2008 Big West Swimming & Diving Championships. Scoring 856 points, the men's team captured their 26th title, third in the past five years (‘04, ‘06), while the women's team was crowned conference champion for the third straight season, 11th overall, after tallying 926 points.

UC Santa Barbara's point total easily outdistanced the second place UC Davis who collected 674 tallies. Third place was awarded to UC Irvine (624) with Pacific coming in fourth with 546 points. Cal Poly (386) and Cal State Northridge (257) rounded out the men's standings. On the women's side, the Gauchos were followed by UC Irvine with 655 points, followed be UC Davis (610) and Pacific (575) coming in third and fourth, respectively. Cal Poly checked in at fifth with 417 points and 188 closed out the women’s final standings.

Over the course of four days, UC Santa Barbara and UC Irvine combined for 14 broken records. The Gauchos set eight championship records, while the Anteaters, led by Lyndsay DePaul's three record-setting performances, posted six new top times.

Big West In The National Polls: Three schools conclude the year ranked in the collegeswimming.com national polls. The UC Santa Barbara men's team won the 2008 Big West Swimming & Diving Championships and secured the 24th spot in the Top 25 ranking. Also making waves in the mid-major poll are UC Irvine and Cal Poly. The Anteaters men’s squad locked in the 20th slot, while the women's team finished 2008 ranked 16th. A 21st ranking was awarded to the Cal poly men’s program, with the women picking up the 23rd spot.

And The 2008 Winners Are: The 2008 Big West Swimming & Diving Champions, UC Santa Barbara, picked up four of the six Big West Swimming & Diving annual honors and Cal Poly and UC Irvine each collected one conference award. The Gauchos swept the women's awards with Anne Marie May tabbed Big West Swimmer of the Year, Sara Nicponski collecting Big West Freshman of the Year honors and head coach Gregg Wilson named Big West Coach of the Year. For the men, Wilson also picked up coach of the year, while UC Irvine's Eddie Erazo brought home Big West Athlete of the Year honors and Matt Waggoner was the Big West Freshman of the Year selection. Guiding the UC Santa Barbara men's program to their 26th title, third in the past five years (‘04, ‘06), and the women’s team to its third straight conference champion, Wilson was named both the men’s and women’s Big West Coach of the Year.