Men's Basketball -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner


Men's Basketball

Big West Unveils 2007-08 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

Files associated with this release:
2007-08 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team


Seniors Scott Cutley of Cal State Fullerton and Alex Harris of UC Santa Barbara headlined the 2007-08 men's basketball all-conference team with their naming as Big West Co-Players of the Year today, announced Commissioner Dennis Farrell.  The honor of Big West Coach of the Year went to Cal State Northridge's Bobby Braswell, while UC Davis guard Mark Payne collected the conference Freshman of the Year award.

The selection of co-players of the year has not happened in the Big West since Utah State's Greg Grant and UNLV's Anthony Jones shared the distinction in 1985-86.  The other time co-winners were named was in 1975-76.

Cutley averaged 14.6 points and 7.7 rebounds per game during the regular season to help the Titans to their second co-championship in school history.  The 6-5 forward ranked third in the league with a .521 field goal percentage, as well as eighth in both assists (2.7) and steals (1.4) per game.  Cutley joined Greg Bunch, who earned the distinction 32 years ago, as the only Titans to earn the conference's top honor.  Among Cutley's efforts this season were eight double-doubles - second in the Big West - and six games with 20 points or more.  He overcame early season injury to post three consecutive double-doubles during one December stretch.  Showing his versatility, Cutley also notched 10 games with at least four assists.  Cutley's play led Fullerton to a school record-tying 21 victories in the regular season.

Harris shared top honors with Cutley after averaging 20.3 points per game for a Gaucho squad that also captured a share of the Big West regular season championship.  The 6-6 guard scored in double figures in all 29 games, helping the Gauchos to a 23-6 mark and a school record for victories.  More than half (15) of those games resulted in him producing 20 or more points, including a season-high 31 points in a win at Cal Poly on Jan. 19.  Harris, with 1,659 points, stands just 29 points shy of UCSB's all-time scoring record held by Carrick DeHart (1986-90).  In addition, Harris shot an impressive 44.0% (70 of 159) from three-point range, the fourth-best percentage in the conference.  Harris also ranked in the Big West top 10 in free throw percentage (8th), three-point field goals made (4th) and minutes played (5th).
UC Davis competed as an official Big West member for the first time in 2007-08, and Payne proved that he will be a strong source of production for years to come.  Payne is the third player in league history to earn the nod as top freshman in his team's first year as a competing member, joining Cal Poly's Mike Wozniak (1996-97) and Cal State Northridge's Ian Boylan (2001-02).  Payne punctuated his season with the third triple-double in Aggie history, posting 19 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists in a win over non-conference rival Sacramento State on Mar. 1.  A 6-6 guard, Payne's versatility was on display often as he led the team in field goal percentage (.524), rebounds (161), assists (99) and steals (57).  On the league leaderboard, Payne was fifth in assists (3.2), 13th in rebounding (5.2) and first in steals (1.8).

It was a renaissance of sorts for Braswell, who completed his 12th season at Cal State Northridge with his first-ever Big West Coach of the Year award.  After his teams finished no better than fourth place just once in the previous five seasons, Braswell led his troops to their first-ever Big West championship - shared or outright - with a 12-4 record.  The Matadors seized control of first place in the first week of conference play and never relinquished their grip on the top perch throughout, sharing the title with UC Santa Barbara and Cal State Fullerton.  The turnaround resulted in a 20-9 regular season record, marking the third time Braswell has reached the 20-win plateau during his tenure.

Along with Cutley and Harris, who were named first team all-conference for the second time, other first team honorees included Cal State Northridge senior Jonathan Heard, Pacific junior Steffan Johnson, Long Beach State junior Donovan Morris and UC Irvine senior Patrick Sanders.


Player                              School                                   Ht.    Yr.     Pos.    Hometown
+Scott Cutley                  Cal State Fullerton               6-5    Sr.     F         Inglewood, Calif.
+Alex Harris                    UC Santa Barbara               6-6    Sr.     G         Alameda, Calif.
Jonathan Heard             Cal State Northridge           6-6    Sr.     F/G      Inglewood, Calif.
Steffan Johnson             Pacific                                    6-1    Jr.     G         Kent, Wash.
Donovan Morris              Long Beach State               6-3    Jr.     G         San Bernardino, Calif.
Patrick Sanders              UC Irvine                               6-6    Sr.     F         Corona, Calif.
Player                              School                                   Ht.     Yr.    Pos.     Hometown
Josh Akognon                Cal State Fullerton               5-11  Jr.    G           Petaluma, Calif.
Darren Fells                    UC Irvine                               6-7    Sr.    F/C        Fullerton, Calif.
Frank Robinson             Cal State Fullerton               6-4    Sr.    G           Los Angeles, Calif.
Tremaine Townsend     Cal State Northridge           6-9    Jr.    F             Phoenix, Ariz.
Deon Tresvant                Cal State Northridge           6-0    Jr.    G            Long Beach, Calif.

Player                              School                                   Ht.    Yr.    Pos.      Hometown
Anthony Brown               Pacific                                    6-7    Jr.    F            Sacramento, Calif.
Calvin Chitwood            Cal State Northridge           6-8    Sr.    F            Phoenix, Ariz.
Trae Clark                       Cal Poly                                 5-11  Jr.    G            Fremont, Calif.
Larry Cunningham        UC Riverside                        6-2    Sr.    G           Downey, Calif.
Chris Devine                  UC Santa Barbara               6-8     Jr.    F            Eagle River, Alaska
Ivan Elliott                       UC Santa Barbara               6-8     Sr.    F           San Francisco, Calif.
Josh Jenkins                  Cal State Northridge           5-10   Jr.    G            Albuquerque, N.M.
James Powell                 UC Santa Barbara              6-2     So.   G            Glendora, Calif.
Chad Troyer                    Pacific                                   6-4     Jr.     G            Seattle, Wash.

Player                               School                                Ht.      Pos.     Hometown
Shawn Lewis                   Cal Poly                              6-4     G          Emeryville, Calif.
Greg Plater                       Long Beach State            6-1      G          Salem, Ore.
Mark Payne                      UC Davis                           6-7      G          Stockton, Calif.
Jalonni Diggs                   UC Riverside                    6-1      G          Los Angeles, Calif.
Terrell Smith                     Pacific                                6-4      G          Federal Way, Wash.

+Two-time All-Big West First Team

Scott Cutley, Cal State Fullerton
Alex Harris, UC Santa Barbara

Mark Payne, UC Davis

Bobby Braswell, Cal State Northridge