Golf -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Smile Generation Geico

2009 Big West Conference
Men's and Women's Golf Championships
San Luis Obispo Country Club
Monday, April 20 - Tuesday, April 21

For tee times through Golf Stat's website, click here:
Women's Tee Times - Tuesday's Final Round
Men's Tee Times - Tuesday's Final Round

For Live Tournament Scoring, click here:
Women's Results
Men's Results

UC Davis Men, Long Beach State Women Capture Big West Golf Championship

The 2009 Big West Golf Championship showcased two new faces atop the leaderboard with UC Davis men and Long Beach State women each claiming the program's first Big West Championship. The 54-hole tournament, hosted by Cal Poly, took place at the San Luis Obispo County Club April 20-21. The menís course was a par-72, 6,769 yard layout while the womenís course measured 6,168 yards.

UC Davis fired a 54-hole, three-under-par 861 (291-286-284) to dethrone two-time defending champion UC Irvine by seven strokes. The Aggies, who carried a two-stroke lead into the final round of competition, padded their lead with a tournament-low 284 in the final round of competition. UC Irvine and Pacific tied for second after blasting a three-round 868 total.

Led by teammates Andrew Patipaksiril and Scott Clayton, who tied for third after carding 214, UC Riverside tallied an 882 total to place fourth. Long Beach State (886), Cal State Northridge (891), Cal Poly (895) and UC Santa Barbara (897) rounded out the men's standings.

UC Davis' Austin Graham (74-70-69) edged out teammate Ramie Sprinkling (72-71-70) in a one-hole sudden-death playoff to earn individual medalist honors on the menís side. Both players concluded the championship with identical three-under-par scores of 213. Along with Patipaksiril and Clayton, Pacificís T.J. Bordeaux and UC Irvineís Michael Im fired a two-under 214 to tie for third place.

The women's side was tightly contested as Long Beach State, the women's leader heading into the final round, registered a three- round 929 (308-313-308) to capture the top prize by one stroke. With the help of a tournament-low 303 in the final round of play, UC Irvine nearly overcame a six-stroke deficit in an attempt to grab their fifth straight title. Unfortunately, the Anteaters fell one stroke short and instead settled for a two-way tie for second with UC Davis after shooting a three-round total of 930.

Host Cal Poly, who was spearheaded by individual medalist Stephanie Yocum, shot 945 to place fourth, followed by UC Riverside (954) and Cal State Northridge (971).

Yocum, who carded a 54-hole total of nine-over 225, led the women's field by three strokes to claim medalist honors. The Anteater tandem of Jane Chin and Patty Chawalitmetha, along with UC Davis' Chelsea Stelzmiller and Long Beach State's Lee Lopez, were knotted in second place after shooting a three-round 228.

The tournament concluded with the announcement of the 2009 Big West All-Conference Awards. On the mens side UC Irvine's John Chin collected his second consecutive Big West Golfer of the Year honor. Long Beach State's Kevin Lim and UC Irvine's Roberto Francioni earned co-freshmen of the year honors, while Cy Williams received coach of the year accolades. Jane Chin of UC Irvine was chosen Big West Women's Golfer of the Year and Long Beach State's Lee Lopez and Sue Ewart were selected women's freshman and coach of the year.

2009 All-Big West Conference Awards
First Team

Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge
Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
Austin Graham, UC Davis
Nate Pistaccio, UC Davis
Ramie Sprinkling, UC Davis

Second Team
Scott Clayton, UC Riverside
Michael Drake, Long Beach State
Erik Jarvey, Cal State Northridge
Jarod Knight, Cal Poly
Sean Shahi, UC Irvine

Honorable Mention
Brent Booth, UC Davis
T.J. Bordeaux, Pacific
Andrew Patipaksiri, UC Riverside
Tyler Weir, UC Santa Barbara

Coach of the Year
Cy Williams, UC Davis

Co-Freshmen of the Year
Kevin Lim, Long Beach State
Roberto Francioni, UC Irvine

Player of the Year
John Chin, UC Irvine

First Team

Jennifer Bermingham, UC Riverside
Kay Hoey, Long Beach State
Alice Kim, UC Davis
Lee Lopez, Long Beach State
Chelsea Stelzmiller, UC Davis
Stephanie Yocum, Cal Poly

Second Team
Hannah Brabb, Cal Poly
Patty Chawalitmetha, UC Irvine
Hilary Packard, UC Irvine
Joy Trotter, UC Irvine

Honorable Mention
Alexandra Erdman, UC Riverside
Maddy Fletcher, Cal Poly
Reina Rogers, Long Beach State

Coach of the Year
Sue Ewart, Long Beach State

Freshman of the Year
Lee Lopez, Long Beach State

Player of the Year
Jane Chin, UC Irvine

NCAA Regional Information
The NCAA regionals for men will be held at six sites, including the Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, on May 14-16 with the NCAA Menís Golf Championship slated for May 26-30 at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio.

The regionals for women will be held at three sites, including the West Regional at the Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz., from May 7-9, with the four-day NCAA Womenís Golf Championship scheduled for May 19-22 at the Caves Valley Golf Club in Owing Mills, Maryland.